We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homemade pastas are yum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matteo's Osteria

Matteo's Osteria
Reserve with OpenTable
Matteo's Osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Matteo's Osteria: An osteria [osteˈria] is a traditional Italian eatery serving fresh, regional specialties and wine in a casual, convivial setting. "Oste" shares the same root as "host", and at Matteo's Osteria, we are the hosts of an authentic Italian experience. A restaurant, wine bar, and breakfast cafe, we invite you to savor our healthy, locally-sourced, homemade cucina italiana by award-winning chef Matteo Mistura, and explore our 100+ wines - we offer the largest selection by the glass on Maui.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Homemade pastas are yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We decided to venture away from the seafood restaurants this evening and try Matteo's Osteria. What a great decision! Restaurant has a great amount of energy and staff were very engaged and attentive. I had the Lamb with homemade pasta. This was fantastic...ragout was well-prepared and complemented the yummy homemade pasta. My husband had the beef tenderloin and very much enjoyed his meal. I started my meal with Pasta Fagioli soup which was one of the best I've ever had. My husband had an equally delicious salad. Drinks are also well-done. We both tried the papaya margaritas - - another winner! We didn't have wine this evening...we usually do...next time. They have quite the selection - - one of the best selections I've seen on the island.

Our server, Phillip was incredibly attentive. He made some fantastic dinner recommendations and even offered his perspective on where to have the best breakfasts on the island. He really represents the restaurant well. The support staff was equally fantastic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    174
    69
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great italian in a courtyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had overdosed on fish and seafood for the last few weeks and decided to try Matteo's based on TA reviews. It was better than we anticipated. We shared an excellent salad of local greens, small bits of squash, cheese and candied pecans (a bit too much vanilla and sugar for me) with just the right amount of a light dressing. My husband had a pizza, actually large enough to share, with what he said was the best Italian sausage he has eaten outside of Italy. I had the spaghetti bolognese which was a very traditional style sauce over hefty homemade pasta. The wine list is more than adequate for the type of restaurant and many wines are offered in 3 and 6 ounce pours which are perfect if you want to switch between courses. The only shortcomings: we had to ask for bread with our salad and we were never offered cheese for the pasta (it was not needed, in my opinion, but perhaps others would disagree.)

The wait staff is attentive without being overbearing and both the maître d' and the chef's wife came around to check on our food and service. All in all, a very enjoyable evening. One final point -- even with a gps, it was not easy to find. Calling for directions may be a good idea if you are not local.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carebearPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian food and awesome service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had dinner here based on the recommendation of staff at our hotel. We arrived during happy hour so were able to get some discounts on appetizers and wines by the glass. All food was excellent and featured mostly local ingredients. Wine list was very extensive with more than 50 wines available by the glass. Our server was outstanding and gave excellent recommendations and stellar service. Definitely check this place out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best GF Pizza we've ever had, and that's not all...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Would highly recommend this for anyone seeking out some great Italian food. The fish, pasta and pizza were all outstanding and the gluten-free pizza crust was the best we ever had, bar none. Throw in a diverse wine list and excellent service (Charlie was our waiter and everyone from the hostess to our other servers were all helpful and friendly) and our family of five (two adults and three adult kids) had an most enjoyable evening. If we lived here, we'd be going back all the time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DallasAyrUFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We ate here based on some of the good reviews from Tripadvisor. I would have to say it was just ok. The location was in a shopping mall just at the end of the Piilani Hwy in Wailea. There is not a view of the ocean, but that is not a problem for us. We were looking forward to some authentic Italian food.
We were seated right away so there was not a wait. The patio was closed due to a wine function, but the dinning room was nice. The servers and hostess were a little flighty. It was awkward when she was looking up the nightly specials on her iPad and was having trouble. Long awkward silence. She did a good job bringing courses on time, however.
The food was just so-so. I had the roasted beet salad but half of the beets were cooked so much they were a mushy pile. The entrees were just ok as well. The pasta was fresh made so that was a plus but the sauce on the gnocchi was bland. Squash ravioli was better. Dessert was a flour less brownie that was too rich for me, but my mom thought it was very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tripseeker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matteo's Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing