We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi and fusion dishes”
Review of Morimoto

Morimoto
Reserve with OpenTable
Morimoto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wailea Ike Dr.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great sushi and fusion dishes”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The cod and all of their sushi are so wonderful! They are very accommodating to any allergies and can make changes accordingly. The hot stone bowl is also great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caesar_and_Chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    170
    100
    56
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mediocre Morimoto”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

It's located in the best hotel on Maui. The Andz Maui, However, we enjoyed dining at the Kaana Kitchen in the hotel better than Morimoto's. Our favorite Morimoto's is the one in Honolulu. That has the best quality and best customer service.
But we did enjoy the pork chops and the deep fried fish at this one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank denise808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei
2 reviews
“OMAKASE!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Start to finish Amazing! We were excited to see Chef actually in the kitchen and as first time diners we were compelled to try the OMAKASE! Our server Brett and his assistant Mac showed excellent knowledge of each dish and timing was perfect! Wine pairings I really enjoyed and the table side wasabi preparation was a unique treat! Full dining experience!

Helpful?
Thank Chadmc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
2 reviews
“Friendly Service”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were there for a company dinner. Great service, and the food was just okay. I was expecting a wow factor, given that it's named/owned by an iron chef. The lighting was not great for some of us could barely see our food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 808-in-my-opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Imaginative dishes”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Morimoto is located at Andaz Hotel in Wailea and has a great view of the beach. Especially nice at sunset. We had the omakase tasting menu which is a variety of different dishes. The presentation of the dishes was outstanding and a lot of thought went into the preparation. Pacing of the dishes was a bit sporadic but it was a busy night. I was a bit disappointed in the tastes which were quite subtle. The sushi was better than usual and the fish was very fresh. Service was friendly. A nice experience and I plan to return for some of the signature dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FJW_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto also viewed

 

Been to Morimoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing