We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same”

Nick's Fishmarket Maui
Reserve with OpenTable
Nick's Fishmarket Maui is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kaukahi Street in the Fairmont Kea Lani
Description: Nick’s Fishmarket Maui is one of Hawaii’s premier seafood restaurants, a favorite of both visitors and residents alike. Located on the grounds of the spectacular Fairmont Kea Lani resort in Wailea, Nick’s Fishmarket is the Valley Isle’s first choice in dining for any occasion, whether it be a romantic dinner, a family celebration, a business function, or just a night out with friends. Join us for our nightly Happy Hour from 5-7pm and dinner from 5:30-9:30pm.
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not the same”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband really looked forward to our dinner at Nick's fish market, where we had dinner on all our previous trips. It was just not the same - perhaps new owner or chef. We will probably not go back

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank IndyMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    262
    152
    66
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Had a special dinner on the patio celebrating our family business of 7 years. Highly recommend the crab cake appetizer...plenty for 2-3 people. The entrees had beautiful presentations, great portions, and deliciously fresh flavors. The wait staff worked together throughout our dinner. We were impressed by the wonderful service. In fact, we ordered the apple pie dessert to top off an awesome meal & Nick's treated us to a second dessert in congratulations to a company award we just received. Thanks to all for a great experience!

Helpful?
Thank ScarletHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“"Conversation stopping" meal!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is one of the greatest restaurants ever. They are amazing all around. The service is over-the-top and the food is DELICIOUS and perfectly prepared.

You begin by walking through the lobby of the Fairmont Kea Lani hotel which is open air with really beautiful architecture and views of the pools, the ocean and the manicured hotel grounds. You walk up to the entrance of Nick's which has a very large outdoor seating area and the inside is open-air with a nice bar (which is usually packed) and lots of tables.

Once seated, they quickly take your drink order and you are able to sit and enjoy the company you are with, amidst this gorgeous setting. There were three of us and we shared the calamari which was very good (a little too much breading) and the tiger eye sushi which was fabulous. For dinner we had filet mignon (medium rare and cooked to perfection) which practically melted in my mouth. It had a light bernaise sauce and then they drizzled a rosemary infused au jus over the entire dish which also included brussel sprouts and potatoes - YUM! My dad had the salmon which was beautifully plated over wild rice which was also melt-in-your mouth good. My mom had the Ahi Oscar which was a large piece of seared ahi tuna with a crab leg and light potatoes au gratin - another mouth-watering meal.

Our server Brooke was a doll. She was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient and really knew the menu and was able to answer all of our questions. She was also great about letting us take our time with our cocktails, apps and meals so that we could chat and enjoy the evening. We never felt rushed. The rest of her team was just as good - keeping our water glasses filled, serving our food and clearing the table at the appropriate times - they were all also friendly and professional. There were so many "little things" that they all did throughout our time there which made the evening very special. The training that all of these guys and gals go through must be extensive because they were all really amazing.

My parents have been to Nick's numerous times over the years and they never disappoint. Though it is quite expensive, I highly recommend this wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Always Great”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have been coming to Nick's since the mid 90's on Oahu and for the past 15-years at the Fairmont in Maui. Always great food with high-quality service. The fresh sashimi is out of this world and the wine list at Nick's is deep and versatile.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food but the service has gone downhill from our last visit”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We hadn't been back to Hawaii for thirteen years and had eaten at Nick's the last time we were in Maui, so decided to dine here again. We made reservations for an early dinner seating and, at first, the hostess, who was very friendly, tried to seat us near the bar. Not being drinkers and not enjoying a noisy setting, we asked if we could be seated somewhere else, so were happily seated next to a very friendly family with a baby. Nick's is in a beautiful setting at the Kea Lani Resort and a nice touch is the photographer who took our picture together. We purchased the photograph at the end of the meal and it remains a nice memory.

We had recalled from our first visit that the servers were a bit stuffy but had remembered good service. Maybe it was because we didn't order drinks, but our servers were inattentive and stood talking to each other off to one side. I had to request more water. My Snapper was delicious and apple pie for dessert was delectable. We ordered the Chocolate Decadence also, which was absolutely scrumptious, but the creme brulee was miniscule and a disappointment for the cost. My husband ordered the special entree of fish and enjoyed it
very much. You can't really complain about the food but for our dinner cost of $164.59 before my husband's generous tip we expected better service with at least a taint of friendliness. The owner was there, too, so I don't know how he could have failed to notice the servers' aloofness as he heartily greeted regulars.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Fishmarket Maui also viewed

 

Been to Nick's Fishmarket Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing