We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel! Amazing experience! Loved the Andaz... WOW!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 14, 2013

No words can describe what an unbelievable stay we have had at the Andaz in Maui! We couldn't decide whether to stay on the west or south side of the island so we decided on 3 nights on both sides and for our south side time, chose the Andaz as it was the "new kid on the block". We absolutely loved our stay and wished we had stayed here the whole time (both for the resort itself and the better beaches on the south).

The property is brand new with so many highlights and amazing features that we didn't feel the need to venture off to any other neighbouring resorts. Even the locals said we weren't missing much as it is definitely the most superior hotel in Wailea. Some of the things we loved:
- Check in experience was first class. From the handmade lei's provided, to the quenching lemonade and cooling towels, to the flawless use of iPads sitting on the comfortable lounges. Seamless and definitely made you feel special!
- Staff everywhere were amazing and nothing was ever an issue. Friendly, attentive, helpful and a great Aloha spirit!
- Best food we ate anywhere on the island! Whilst the hotel food was probably about $4-$6 per dish more expensive than other resorts, it is definitely worth every penny! Clean eating, fresh food with so much flavour! We were lucky to speak to Brent Martin (Exec Chef) who was so passionate about bringing the local Maui flavours to the table and did so amazingly. We ate at all the bars, poolside, Mokapu market and the Ka'ana Kitchen and each time was great! Highlight would be the Ka'ana Kitchen both for the breakfast experience (wow) and dinner (great sharing experience).
- We were upgraded from a partial ocean front to a full ocean front room which had a private lanai (so cute). Room was clean, great use of space and storage, nice comfy king bed, gorgeous furniture and fixtures, complimentary snacks and easy to use electric shades and lighting. Loved it!
- With 3 infinity pools, a big lagoon and an adult pool there is always somewhere to relax and enjoy the sun. Pool chairs were comfy and towels were soft and fluffy. If you prefer the ocean, the beach in front of the property was amazing. Crystal clear water and great snorkelling in the morning.
- We enjoyed spending time sitting in the lobby (which really does feel like your "private lounge room" as the staff explained). During the day, there was always little things to eat (fruit and slices) and from about 5pm drinks are served to guests as they enjoy the amazing sunset.

Overall we loved the vibe, the attention detail, the customer service and the experience we had at the Andaz. Highly recommended to anyone visiting Maui and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank missiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,731 - 2,737 of 2,899 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Set amongst the other giant resorts in Wailea, ANdAZ manages to hold its own inspite of being rather new to the scene. We were a little apprehensive of staying at a hotel that had been open less than two months. But the operations at the property were pretty much flawless. In fact, if anything the freshness was evident in the service. Not only did everyone at the property always greet you with a smile, but were more than eager to go the extra mile to make your experience more memorable.

Firstly it is a modern chic property designed to impress the Internet generation. From four cascading infinity pools, to stunning views of the Mapuko beach to the amazing creations by Fernando at the pool bar. Check in is a breeze as associates and with ipads check you in while you enjoy a refreshing drink at the lobby while enjoying the amazing view. The rooms are loaded with technology as well. Remote controlled drapes that allow a choice of sheer and dark, plug and play wifi across the property (even the beach). The absence of NFL Network in the TV lineup was a small annoyance.

The food is very good, an exception to the general antipathy towards quality food at resorts. The breakfast had a lot of choices but that said, day two had the exact same menu. I would have liked to see some variety there. The appetizers and entrees for dinner are in line with any top flight manhattan restaurant. Even the finger food available by the pool is quite good. However, given the limited number of options, we had pretty much tried everything by day three.

My wife went to the spa. The experience was indeed very refreshing. We also did the sunset photoshoot. Now we have some good shots of the two of us to remember. There are a number of water activities to choose from. We chose to just laze by the beach and pool.

Of course none of this comes cheap. Expect to spend about 1,000 per night inclusive of food and drinks. And the rates are only going to go higher in the winter and as more and more people hear about this property. One tip, there are quite a few good inexpensive food options nearby. Ask the staff - they will be more than happy to advise. Also the premium for an ocean view is definitely worth it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KaustuvDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Maybe the nicest resort ever. Fantastic physical plant, amazing service. Wonderful food and beverage. Not cheap, but not unreasonable. Really splendid, beautifully located, gorgeous brand new (Sept 2013) resort. If Maui is your destination, run don't walk...

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank bgarrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I were fortunate enough to arrive at the Andaz on their opening day and enjoy an incredible week at this outstanding hotel! The location, staff, food and facilities are amazing. While they were still working on a few final adjustments, you barely noticed as everyone was so friendly and helpful.

The Andaz offers a great check-in process and each of the staff is ready and willing to ensure that your experience is enjoyable. Sara checked us in and was gracious enough to keep an eye on us during our stay, ensuring that we were enjoying ourselves.

This was the first time that we visited Maui without renting a car. To be honest, I doubt we will ever rent one in the future. The Andaz has pretty much everything you need. This will be even more true once Morimoto Maui restaurant opens. There are also several other great restaurants that are within walking distance (or a short cab ride).

The beach in front of the hotel is amazing! The beach activity center has a great package that allows you to utilize all of their various equipment for 5 days for one flat price. We snorkeled, stand-up paddle boarded and kayaked. It was a great way to try out different items and not worry about trying to have items back by a certain time. They also offer a complimentary trip in one of their outrigger canoes each morning. If you have never had the opportunity to paddle in an outrigger I would highly recommend this experience! It was a great way to learn more about the ocean all while taking in a great view of the coastline from the water. Once back on shore, the staff was always willing to set-up an umbrella, chairs and fresh towels whenever you were in the mood to spend some time on the beach.

If the wind happens to pick-up, there are several great pools alongside the hotel. Again, the staff was always ready and willing to help find the perfect spot. There was always someone available to deliver a drink or something to eat. Speaking of food, our dinner at Ka'ana Kitchen was outstanding!

I would also highly recommend a session with Pacific Dream Photography. This was a great way to wrap-up our trip and the images were truly outstanding! Just ask one of the staff in the front lobby and they can arrange a time for your session. You might want to consider not waiting until the last evening before you leave. Depending on your flight time, this will allow a little more time to view your photographs. We loved the photographs and had a hard time narrowing it down to a reasonable number!

We are already looking forward to our return to the Andaz!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannabrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Awesome! Awesome! Awesome. Staff was friendly, pool is kid friendly and amazing facilities. Will definitely go back! Kids LOVED it!!!! The food was great quality and the bar was a lot of fun. Minibar is complimentary except for alcohol. Great beach as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zevd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We chose the new property, Andaz Maui, to renew our wedding vows after twenty years. The Andaz staff referred us to Laurie and Rev. Al at Makena Weddings to assist and plan the service. Photographer Michael, from Pacific Dream Photography, captured the event with a beautiful sunset and ocean backdrop. During our one week stay, we were very pleased with the friendly and accommodating staff which allowed us to enjoy a wonderful vacation. There is an amazing wait staff at Ka'ana kitchen where we enjoyed breakfast everyday. The spa is beautiful and the staff is friendly and provides excellent service. There were a few glitches, which is understandable in a newly opened hotel. Management dealt with them promptly and professionally so don't let that deter you from a visit. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our suite on the 7th floor had great ocean views and was spacious, quiet and clean. There is soakin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGreens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My hubby and I are in Maui for our honeymoon and gave the Andaz a try because it opened only about one month ago. I have to say that we are blown away. We are staying in the King with full ocean view and it's perfectly designed with a picture perfect view. The staff members who greeted us in front and all throughout the hotel really love what they do--and you can tell. The property is also stunning with 5 pools, and open feel and the serenity you would expect from Hawaii. One last rave is the food and drink here--creative and fresh. I had the jalapeño margarita on my arrival and it was the best drink I have had in a while--representative of everything they do here. If you are able to splurge--do it here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trojanchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
25.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Maui At Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Maui At Wailea

Address: 3550 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Green Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $509 - $1,046 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz Maui At Wailea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz Maui At Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Maui At Wailea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing