We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and Kamaaina deals!”
Review of Spago

Spago
Ranked #13 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Four Seasons Hotel
Transit: Shops of Wailea
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and Kamaaina deals!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Better food than Mamma 's, and they actually do local discounts. Nice! The fresh bread cart is awesome. All the delicious bread you can eat. Great service and nice atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PepeStrikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    215
    147
    72
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“50th birthday WOW!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We chose Spago only because I didn't like the menu at Ferraro's.

We made the reservation at noon on the day of my birthday and they could accommodate our request for a table with a view.

The view was breathtaking, the meal was incredible. After eating here it was difficult not to compare every meal against this one.

The caesar salad was so tasty, not your typical caesar.

Mac nut mahi mahi with mashed purple sweet potatoes and coconut was heavenly.

The pineapple cake was scrumptious.

The service was impeccable, well timed attentive without being overbearing.

What a way to celebrate my 50th!

Helpful?
Thank Little_Queenie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rushed and loud music”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I will start with the positive, we were seated at a lovely table at the end of the patio with a beautiful view. The busser was great, always kept our water glassed full and offered us plenty of yummy bread.
On the not so positive side...Our server seemed to be trying to impress someone, he strung together sentences that made us laugh...An example...as I can best remember. "The sepia of this wine will really come thru and apex just in time to crescendo with your delightful entrees"

I read previous reviews about feeling rushed and indeed our server stopped by 3-4 times while we were sipping our cocktails before we finally had to say, we would like to enjoy the drinks and sunset before ordering. When we did order, we again pointed out we wanted a leisurely dinner... Salad took about 10 minutes it was a good beet salad and was split (but $24 for a salad?) We decided to take our time and less than 5 minutes after we finished and our plates were cleared our entrees were brought out. Luckily a manager delivered our food and was accomodating in taking them back so we could enjoy our wine and have some time inbetween courses. Our server stopped by a couple of times but did not mention the timing, we had to finally say "we are ready"...it would have been much less awkward had he acknowledged it. I had the ahi which was quite good (maybe a 5 oz portion) and my husband had the ehu.

We knew this would be an expensive dinner... when we are spending $250-300 I dont want my entree to be served less than an hour after being seated and I expect the server to have the professionalism to be able to read this without having to be told.

Another thing that took away from the whole experience was the music...Beautiful restaurant, you can hear the waves and they play Rolling Stones and classic rock music...Our server told us this was what Chef Wolfgang envisioned for his restaurant in Maui...what a miss - there are so many talented artists in Hawaii why not have local musician play some nice background music?

I really wanted to like Spago and had it not been for our server (and to a small extent the music) I may have rated this as Very Good but he was intrusive and pompous and really made the evening uncomfortable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cruzerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best Meal on Maui”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We concluded our two week visit to Maui with a visit to Spago last night. Everything was nothing short of incredible. We opted for the $50 fixed price menu in order to save some money. Even with the lower price; the meal, service, and atmosphere was outstanding. Each course was delivered on time by the large attentive staff. The presentation of the food was picture perfect and the taste was amazing. This was by far the best meal we enjoyed on Maui and a special treat to close out our trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasRazorbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We wanted MORE of everything !”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had a remarkable experience eating at Spago in The Four Seasons at Wailea, Maui where we were staying last week. We are still talking about it ...that's how amazing it was! We have eaten at many fine restaurants only to be disappointed in some way or another. Spago did not disappoint! The service was second to none... the food, exceptional and the chef, a genius! Very pricey, but so worth it. This was the best and most enjoyable restaurant experience ever! *request Frank as your server...he will take good care of you*

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhyllisnScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spago also viewed

 

Been to Spago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing