We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boogieboarding Paradise”
Review of Oneloa Beach

Oneloa Beach
Ranked #22 of 42 things to do in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Boogieboarding Paradise”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went to this beach just for the sake of going, and I'm so glad we brought boogieboards. The surf was quite rough and I definitely wiped out hard on one of the waves, but if you pay attention, it's a great spot to catch some waves. The wind did pick up though towards the end of the morning, and there really was sand in everything as some people reported. There's not a lot out here, but there was a fish taco truck too for those who needed food or drink. As I said, if you're looking to body surf, this is a fantastic spot to catch some waves!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmyJ1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
785 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Isolated beach without all the hotels”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you want an isolated beach without all the hotels, then Big Beach is the place to go. It’s a little out of the way if you’re staying in Kaanapali area but worth the drive to check it out. This beach has several parking lots with port-a-johns, one lot at the north end and one towards the southern end of the beach. Big Beach also has lifeguards, which is a plus in my books. From the beach you can see the island of Molokini. This is a beautiful beach for waves and body boarding or just having family picnics. The first time we came here (many years ago) I made the climb over the hill at the northern end of the beach to see what was on the other side, and to my surprise found out Little Beach was bathing suit optional.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MitchPhyllis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green River, WY
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great beach for all activities”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

One of my two favorite beaches on Maui. Great for body surfing or just beach combing. Very challenging in winter and a good beginner beach in spring and summer. Lots and lots...and lots of sand!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“beware of little beach”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

big beach is beautiful. with lifeguards and tons of sand. a short walk to little beach just north and over a small hill, but they all wear the same bathing suits there, none! a bit shocking for the kids.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank dktrdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saukville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very nice sand which was easy to walk on. It wasn't very crowded which was nice! The waves were nice to look at as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevbo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oneloa Beach also viewed

 

Been to Oneloa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing