We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“# 602...Great View and Great Unit”
Review of Polo Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polo Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Indian Wells, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“# 602...Great View and Great Unit”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Completely disagree with review below. There was no broken furniture and the condo was fully equipped as advertised. We had a wonderful time during our 2 week vacation. Although condo is not newly remodeled, it was immaculate. What a beautiful view of Molokini crater and what a great value. Fully equipped kitchen including anything needed to to prepare meals and entertain a large group. Found everything needed for a great day at the beach including new beach chairs, ice chests and umbrellas. We highly recommend this condo to anyone ready to have a great time.

Room Tip: Do not base your opinion on one review of a vacation rental
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdK32523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    39
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
109
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our family stayed at the Polo Beach Club in March 2013 for the second year in a row. We absolutely love the property and the two units we rented through Destination Resorts Hawaii (unit 102 & 502), however the property has become very kid/family unfriendly. Unfortunately a few owners have created an environment of hostility to any kid who just simply wants to play. That means no running in the grass or playing in the pool with floats or small floating toys. I personally do not allow my kids to scream or yell in loud voices during play so that was not the issue, it was simply kids are not to be seen or heard at this condo. One owner yelled and pointed their finger in the face of my son while he was alone in an elevator stating he was a very rude bad boy who should not be riding the elevator with out a parent. My son is 12 years old and has never been spoken to like that. It really scared him. If you have no kids this property can't be beat; but if you want your kids to play in the grass and have fun in the pool, don't book here. We accepted the silly rule of no beach balls or toys in the grass or the pool, but to tell kids they can't play tag or man tracker in the grass is ludicrous. With the assistance of Destination Resorts Hawaii we moved to another property in Wailea where kids were welcome and allowed to be kids. If your planning on booking a family vacation, I highly recommend booking a different property through Destination Resorts Hawaii. They were incredibly professional and helpful in saving our vacation! Kellie

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in the condo for 5 nights and had to pry ourselves out of there. It was so wonderful! Parking spots are under the building and a little tight, but you get used to it. We met a few people at the bbq area who were really nice. There were some people there with children and they appeared to have a great time. The views were spectacular, luaus and whatnot are within walking distance on a paved pathway, whales were seen several times from the beach and the balcony! My boyfriend snorkeled out front and my parents enjoyed the hot tub and pool. It's close to hiking the lava trail in Makena (you have a short drive), Big Beach, and snorkeling in La Perouse Bay. I think every morning, my mom said out loud, "this place is just so wonderful!" She is from Thailand, so you can believe it to be true! :)

Room Tip: There are two bedrooms and two bathrooms. You can't go wrong here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goftheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Families with kids are not welcome. There are 2 owners that live there year round and they hate kids. One of the owners dropped ice on my kids from their upper level balcony while we were enjoying a dinner time bbq on our ground level lanai. That same owner egged our lanai for making noise at 7 pm!!! Kids got in trouble for playing a good old fashion game of tag on property grounds. We were told by the property manager that unless we supervised our children (9 year old) at all times, i.e. escorted them to the bathroom from the beach, 20 feet away, we were not the "right fit" for their property. Ludiucrous. My 9 year old is perfectly capable of going from beach to unit with out me helicopter parenting. We've stayed at other resorts and have never been treated so badly and unfairly for simply letting kids be kids. This property should not be openly booking families, taking their money and then essentially running you out for having kids. We will never go back.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what room you have, if you are a family your holiday will be ruined by how not...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
17 Thank 454MelissaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Aloha…..Please accept our sincere apologies for the events that you and your children experienced at Polo Beach Club. These events are in no way representative of the vacation experience that we provide for families and their children. Maui has always been a special place where families can come and enjoy their time together and we encourage this at all our properties including Polo Beach Club.
Many Maui properties accommodate not only visitors, but also residents that live there year round. All properties have House Rules that we kindly ask our guests to abide by in consideration of all other occupants. How these House Rules are communicated and conveyed to our guests prior to booking and while they are visiting with us – are important components in providing a positive overall experience. Please be assured that we are reviewing this process so that we can prevent its reoccurrence.

Mahalo,
Destination Resorts Hawaii Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

March 2013 : stayed 10 days with two couples and loved the place. The beach was just so convenient and gorgeous. I'm sure we would have done less beach time if we had to drive every time we wanted to be on the beach. The unit was nice, clean and comfortable and the view was spectacular. The pool was a nice bonus, if you didn't want to get all sandy at the beach you could lounge on the grass or the pool deck. Such difficult choices.

Thank you Polo Beach condos , we will be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationResortsHI, Guest Experience Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Aloha....We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of Polo Beach Club. Located right on the beach, the views from all the units are quite spectacular offering fabulous sunsets daily.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Vista, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family of 5 (85 year old mother, husband, sister, son and I) stayed in #709 in February, and we hated to leave! We had stayed in Kaanapali before, but the Polo Beach area is so much quieter and laid-back. The condo was very comfortable, with everything we needed, even beach chairs and an umbrella in the closet! The condo is on the north side of the building and has beautiful views; we enjoyed sitting on the lanai and watching the whales spouting. We loved sleeping with the doors open to hear the ocean, and the location is amazing, right on the beach! The folks at Destination Resorts were wonderful to deal with in booking the condo. I wish we could have used their Activities Desk, they were so anxious to please, but we already had our activities planned and golf booked. We can't wait to go back to Polo Beach again!

Room Tip: 709 is nice because the spare bedroom has a queen and a twin, and since it's at the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank JulieinMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Guest Experience Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Aloha......Thank you so much for your review. If you are looking for a quiet condominium in Wailea right on the beach, it doesn't get much better than Polo Beach Club. I am happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay and plan on coming back.

Mahalo,
Matt Smith
Destination Resorts Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is reviewing #408. The owners, fellow dog lovers, have really updated this condo. It has all the amenities and an awesome view. The updates, combined with the location on the beach make this a pricey find.
The units on the north side won't get any sun if that is important to you. Any units ending with 07, 08 and 09 will be this way. Last year we had sun on the lanai at Palms of Wailea but then we didn't have this view. So it's a trade off.
Pluses: view, view, view. Being RIGHT ON THE BEACH, no hauling all this beach stuff from the condo, to the car, to the beach and back again. I would think most of the units would have a great view. personally, I stay off ground level, if you've seen one centipede in Hawaii, you'll know why!
Free WI-FI! Plus a computer and printer you can use, greatly appreciated.
Housekeeping every day was nice and they were efficient, friendly and good.
We had a lovely Valentines Day, after eating at Monkeypods and having a fabulous meal, we came back to the lanai and Kea Lani hotel had a band that we could hear. So that was great to get our own little concert!

Minuses: if you travel with another couple you will loathe the "twin beds" in one bedroom. It isn't the same pushing the beds together because the bedding is still for each twin. Your feet hang off the ends too. Beds on wheels and if it is right against the wall, will bang on it. You have to move the bed away from the wall. All beds very very soft.
New fangled appliances make even baking a pizza an ordeal. Have to haul out the manual to figure out the oven! (no pizza pan)
Same is true for tv and remote. We finally had to unplug the cable to get it off one channel it was stuck on. Once it recalculated, it was fine and then it happened again and we finally figured out to use the arrows on the lower part of the remote instead of the channel up and down buttons. The tv in the back bedroom is the easiest to use and not glitchy.
Rented many condos but never one where you didn't have any condiments, foil, cooking oil spray or oil of any kind in the condo.
I bought flowers at Safeway and could not find ONE vase in the condo. I usually buy a bouquet and glad I didn't because there wasn't any place to put it.
Person who stayed in the front bedroom said people above him partied on their deck til 11pm, so if anyone is loud on their lanai's, you can hear them. Also if someone is smoking on their lanai, you can smell it and it can linger into your condo.
We bought boogie boards for $15.99 at Safeway since we didn't find any at the condo. We broke one so there is one we left behind.
All in all the Polo doesn't have to try so hard because the location will fill the units. People will pay this price. It's up to you what is important.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mauiwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wailea hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.8 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polo Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polo Beach Club

Property: Polo Beach Club
Address: 4400 Makena Rd, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polo Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hidden gem bordering the Wailea Resort is noted for its prime Maui beachfront location on Polo Beach. A breathtaking, idyllic beach, guests have exclusive access to splash at the ocean's edge or venture further out to challenge the surf. Resorts amenities include a beachfront swimming pool, whirlpool spa, barbecue grills and an herb garden. Enjoy the view and sound of the ocean waves from each deluxe two-bedroom, two-bath suite. Enter through a marbled entryway that leads to a sunken living room with marvelous ocean views. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, living and dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. Amenities include resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Polo Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polo Beach Club Hotel Wailea
Polo Beach Club Maui
Polo Beach Club Wailea, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing