We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet expectation”
Review of Alan Wong's Amasia - CLOSED

Alan Wong's Amasia
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wailea Ike
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectation”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Waited 35 minutes, not even drink order, very disappointing. Staff walked by us several times, assured us she would be Back but never returned. Great chef understood, But poor management! Left because we were hungry!

Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    61
    35
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wailea
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We took my daughter and her husband out tor what I had heard was a great restaurant. When the martinis came one was quite a bit lower than the other two. When this was pointed out, our waitress simply said, Well they should all be the same and did absolutely nothing to remedy the situation. The food was disappointing especially for the price. The beef kebob for example had a pleasant sauce on top but the meat was tasteless and chewy. The avacado toppping on the california rolls really did not enhance flavours. The wonton was rather bland. My chocolate pudding dessert had a rubbery skin on top. And to complete the evening the bill came with a tip included.. I think it is up to me to decide on the amount of tip for food and service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123catherine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good, but not "Amasiaing"”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The food is good. Some of the food is very good, even outstanding. But it's way overpriced. For $100/person, the 5-course tasting menu and service left much to be desired. At that price, every single course must be the best of the best and service should be the equivalent of white glove. While there were 1 or two standout dishes, the overall tasting menu didn't quite satisfy - especially when price is factored into the equation. Service was adequate, but slow. Iced tea didn't arrive until after the 4th course and was never refilled.

Summary: Food is good. Costs too much. Won't be going back - too many other outstanding options on the island.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bemison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty, great service, overpriced”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I went to happy hour here and spent $70. The food was delicious, but not worth the money we spent! The bartender... Ryan I think was his name, was wonderful and incredibly helpful and knowledgeable and took the time to answer our many questions and help us order!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ADRackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We tried Amasia during our stay at Grand Wailea and it was just okay. Kind of felt and tasted like your average Chinese restaurant.
It's all inside eating with no view.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NNSJRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing