We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Alan Wong's Amasia - CLOSED

Alan Wong's Amasia
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: Asian, Sushi, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wailea Ike
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Not what I expected from a restaurant of this caliber. Our waitress was uncaring and rude. Food took forever to appear. Too many spices in the sauces and too much sauce on all the food. Short ribs and california roll(after we took off the wasabi sauce) were the only foods we enjoyed. Loved the interior decoration though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCRenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    61
    35
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy food!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The food was amazing! Loved the tasting menus and the sushi rolls. We went with a bigger group, but it would also be great for a romantic dinner. Delicious treat!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SOnjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Romantic Night”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were seated in an area that sat below the sushi bar. There were 3 tables for two in this space, so this was very cozy. I could see between these big rocks up into the sushi bar. When they heated up some water in the sushi bar something was burning. I was really smelling this for about 10 minutes, and was glad I didn't have to smell it the whole evening.

We each had the 3 item tasting menu. Our waiter brought out the tuna rolls first, followed by the salad as we said we were going to have one of each. It was a nice touch and he kept a nice pace with the courses.

We enjoyed trying different items. Yes, the portion of the main course (4 different things) was somewhat small. I expected it because it was a "tasting" menu. We each chose the malasadas, very tasty and messy, because they were filled with passion fruit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snorkellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great service and wonderful ambiance with some great dishes”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

There is an extensive menu with almost too many items to decide upon. The three course tasting menu was a good choice. The spicy ahi tuna roll was perhaps a bit too spicy. The short ribs, pear salad and duck Bao were excellent. This is definitely a good Asian fusion restaurant to try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Maybe I am just not a huge fan of tapas in general, but I really felt that this food was about the most overrated thing I ate on the island. On top of being overrated in terms of taste, it was incredibly expensive. Wouldn't eat here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank amkoesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alan Wong's Amasia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing