We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss”
Review of Alan Wong's Amasia - CLOSED

Alan Wong's Amasia
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wailea Ike
Portsmouth, N.H.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't Miss”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Food and atmosphere were great! Tapas style. We enjoyed everything we ordered. Worth going just for the coconut desert! Can't wait to go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony03801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    61
    35
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb blending of flavors”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We opted for the tasting menu with the wine pairings and we were delighted. This is a perfect way to experience the best of Amasia and the wine selections and explanations were spot on. Setting was overlooking the koi pond and pleasant. Service was very good. If we had a view of the ocean, would have given 5 stars.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Swoosh1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, iffy staff”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

First, everything we had to eat at Amasia was absolutely fantastic, from the generous sashimi selection to the duck bao recommended by our server, and the lillikoi malasadas for dessert. Great food. HOWEVER, they need to do some work front of house. The hostess seemed to be nearly ambivalent about arriving guests, making little attempt to welcome them until they waited long enough for her to stop shuffling her papers and acknowledge them. She set the wrong tone out of the gate. Ambiance was less than expected, giving the feeling of a nice cafeteria, rather than an upscale restaurant. It took nearly 15 minutes to even be greeted after we'd been seated, much less get any water or order drinks. Again not winning points. Once the food started rolling, everything got back on track, and our server made up for all of the early missteps. Loved the food, but don't know that we'll be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank RKLeBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Small plates, eclectic menu, very good service. We liked the variety of foods offered. I did not like the initial table offered to us in the bar when others in the dining area were available.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeyMillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
396 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Wonderful flavors, killer deserts”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We had the tasting menu and the tuna-abalone poke. Dynamite poke! The other dishes on the tasting menu were very good. The wine list was fairly broad and reasonable for Maui. The ambiance was less than expected, but the service great. We were full but our waitress recommended the pineapple shave ice and lillikoi malasadas as they were the best thing on the menu. She was right! They were sensational! The shave ice was the essence of ripe pineapple, the best shave ice ever. The malasadas were melt in the mouth, passion fruit ambrosia!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mingfatsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing