We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Kind”
Review of Alan Wong's Amasia - CLOSED

Alan Wong's Amasia
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wailea Ike
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of a Kind”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our family travels extensively and eats at some amazing restaurants. Amasia goes down as one of the most memorable meals. Kudos to Alan Wong for this restaurant! Food was creative and wonderfully prepared. Service and ambience just added to the experience. This restaurant is a must!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    61
    35
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
573 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Warm Passion Fruit Malasadas, Coconut ice cream in a chocolate coconut shell, tomato salad w/ outstanding vinegret dressing, sushi, cashew chicken asian salad, kebabs, "like butta" Rib steak--perfect. We had a slight break between two courses to "rest and make room". Everything was fantastic.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OklahomaMomOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Restaurant!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We experienced Amasia while on a "stay-cation" shortly before Christmas. Loved it so much, we went back again the following night. Everything was top knotch: the manager even escorted us personally to the restaurant when he noticed we were unsure about the location the first night we dined there. The servers were all excellent and knew the menu and ingredients inside-out. The tapas style is great because it allows you to experience a greater variety of the wonderful and surprising tastes Alan Wong has on his menu. Just a few of our favorites: Kumamoto Oyster Shooter, Kushi Oyster (packs a lot of heat!), Seafood wontons (heavenly sauce!), Whole Tomato Salad (the li hing mui dressing is still on my mind!). Some items are surprisingly large portions (the tasty Chinese Chicken Salad) so make sure to ask if you tend to order more than you can eat. Wish there was an Amasia on Oahu so I could go there for my birthday next month!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The food was really good. Great flavors and I like the way it was served "family style" one course at a time so you could really enjoy the different flavors. The service was good, but very slow. We had to wait in the "lounge" to be seated and they didn't even offer us drinks. Then we waited a long time for our drinks and even to place our order. Then we waited even longer for dessert menus and our check.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank aimeeclimbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food but very slow service”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went on the Tuesday night after Thanksgiving. The restaurant was very empty.
We got quite a few dishes because my husband and I were really hungry.

"Soup and Sandwich" Grilled Cheese Sandwich: favorite of the night
Kumamoto Oyster Shooter: refreshing
Kona Kampachi Tiradito: i liked the passion fruit flavor but my husband didn't
Soy Braised Short Ribs: slightly too saucy
"Ochazuke" Tea and Rice Maki: comfort food
Shoyu Duck Bao Buns: this is just ok. nothing special

pineapple shaved ice dessert was amazing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uptown_girlNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alan Wong's Amasia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing