We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Condo in Grand Champion Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wailea Grand Champions Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I have stayed in condominiums on all of the Hawaiian Islands, and this is the best by far. We’ve stayed here twice, and will again. This quiet, luxurious property is near the best beaches on Maui. It is beautifully appointed: lovely, comfortable furniture, top-of-the-line kitchen items, and extras like beach chairs and umbrellas, coolers and a washer and dryer. The comfort level of two bathrooms makes a big difference when you come back from the beach! This first-floor condo has a pretty view of the golf course, with the Pacific in the distance. It is very bright and airy and spotlessly clean. Working with the owner is a pleasure. He lives close by, and is responsive to any and all concerns. The complex has two beautiful pools. It is peaceful, yet close to shopping and restaurants. Comparable lodging in upscale Wailea will cost you twice as much. You can find this bit of paradise at http://www.vrbo.com/15464.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 405 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2011

Our family of 4 rented a 2 bedroom unit from DRH from Feb. 20 to 25, 2011. The location of this complex is good. I like the Wailea area since it's a bit quieter than Kihei. It's about a 20 min. walk down the hill to Ulua beach from here. We were assigned unit #95 which overlooks the golf course. This unit could use good cleaning. Floors, tables, bathrooms were ok, but there was rusty furniture on the lanai and the baseboards around the rooms needed a good scrub. Not sure why the staff does not address these things. They would probably say nobody tells them about it, but it's hard not to notice. The pool areas are nothing special, both are quite small. No pool towel service here, you have to wash and dry them yourself. Overall, it was fine for us. But, next time I will be looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karlpenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Wailea Grand Champions Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Wailea Grand Champions Villas. We appreciate your insight and thoughts about your visit to Wailea. The previous guest had stayed for nearly two months and combined with the popularity of the property and guests wanting to check-in immediately, it appears that we may not have been as detailed as we should have been in our cleaning service. As these are private residences, we are asking the owners to change their lanai furniture and we are sharing with our staff the importance of taking the time to be more thorough in servicing our suites. We sincerely hope that you will stay with us again and give us a chance to reinstate your confidence and your experience.
Sincerely,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We stayed in Grand Champions number 85, a one bedroom. On the 7th green with a view of the ocean from the lanai. Couldn't have been happier. Individual room a/c units a little noisy - we turned them off at night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renosteve95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The condo was very clean and welcoming. Take in mind that there is not a daily maid service which adds to the privacy of your home. The possible draw back would be for someone who is sensitive to sounds or noises. The natives (birds) are very talkative in the early morning, evenings and specially if it is raining. The condo is in walking distance to the Shops of Wailea, golf, tennis and a few restaurants. My next trip to Maui, I know exactly where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We needed a 3 bedroom unit and unit 82 perfectly fit our needs! (we rented through VRBO and were extremely impressed in working with the owner) The unit had been recently renovated. Overall, the complex was beautful and very well maintained. Our unit looked on to the golf course which was fun for our 2 year old to watch in the morning. The unit had lots of space - the master bedroom was huge!, 2nd bedroom decent size and the 3rd bedroom/den was off of the kitchen. (there were 4 adults and 2 children and we had lots of space) As others have noted, there are two pool areas which are both well maintained. It should be noted that there is a hill that needs to be walked to get to the Shops at Wailea - it can be long with two kids in tow in the heat. To go to the beaches - mainly Wailea and Ulua, it is best to drive as it would be quite a walk, especially with towels, umbrellas, etc. in tow. Wailea is such a beautiful area. Definitely consider this complex if you want to stay in this area for a great price and lots of space.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfamilycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Booked #19 through VRBO (#14408) a studio condo with a kitchenette and a stackable washer and dryer. For travelers who want to enjoy the beauty of South Maui without the astronomical hotel rates, this complex was an affordable alternative. You can still stroll through the Shops of Wailea and enjoy the golden beaches. The complex includes two pools with hot tubs and grills. It is set back away from the main road, so there is no traffic noise. Preparing a meal or two in the kitchenette saves on restaurant spending. The owner provides dishes, small appliances, towels/linens, and beach gear. There were even boogie boards and ice chests. Highly recommend Grand Champions!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orion3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

#169 is a 3 bedroom unit and was advertised as being recently renovated or updated, 2-3 years ago. On a previous trip we rented an older 1-bedroom unit that was very well maintained but on this trip we needed 3 bedrooms. When we arrived after a long journey to Maui, the key was not available and a call had to be made for someone to let us in. In the first day or two we found ourselves frequently having to clean or repair something in this unit. Some examples are moldy smelling bathrooms, faulty door latches, faulty light fixtures, cupboard door falling off, sliding lanai door not working and many light bulbs burned out. The owner responded to our complaints by sending a cleaner who did a thorough cleaning and a handyman who capably addressed most of our concerns. However, an important kitchen light fixture was left disassembled in the corner for the duration of our stay. No one returned to re-install it. Later several other maintenance issues arose at different times. I did not report these to the owner but repaired them myself or did without to avoid rescheduling my day’s activities and waiting for someone to come. It is the responsibility of the owner to routinely check and maintain the unit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank advoctae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationMaui, Sales and Marketing Coordinator, Destination Resorts Hawaii at Wailea Grand Champions Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2011

We were very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your accommodations at the Wailea Grand Champions Villas. While this particular unit is not managed by Destination Resorts Hawaii, we manage a variety of accommodations at the resort with a staff available to respond to daily needs. We would be happy to assist in finding the ideal accommodations for you on a future visit.
Sincerely,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager
Destination Resorts Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.5 mi away
Wailea Ekahi Village
Wailea Ekahi Village
#3 of 8 in Wailea
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Grand Champions Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Grand Champions Villas

Address: 155 Wailea Ike Pl, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Wailea
Price Range: $228 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wailea Grand Champions Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Wailea golf resort with a country club feel is centered on 11 acres, amid the 18-hole Wailea Blue Golf Course. Select from garden or ocean view suites or golf front villas along the 6th, 7th and 8th holes, with ultimate views of well maintained fairways and sun-drenched strokes. Within this country club condo resort, you'll also find the world-class Wailea Tennis Center and stadium. The resort features two pools, two whirlpool spas and barbecue grills; and is located near The Shops at Wailea and popular Mokapu and Ulua beaches. Each 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, living/dining room area, private lanai and en-suite washer/dryer. Amenities include in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping every third day, and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wailea Grand Champions Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Grand Champions Villas Hotel Wailea
Wailea Grand Champions Villas Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing