We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience at the Grand Champions!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wailea Grand Champions Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Champions in October 2005 (Unit 070) and had planned our stay several months in advance. We rented directly from the owners, and got an email just 5 days before we were to leave from the wife stating she had just been at the unit and there was "a little construction going on". I responded that I was concerned about that and how much? "Oh not much, it shouldn't be too much of a problem". With 5 days notice, there wasn't much that could be done so we hoped that it wasn't too bad and left for our trip. We were dismayed upon our arrival to find a huge excavation/construction project with at least 8 pieces of heavy equipment operating at the golf course directly across from the condo. It was so loud we couldn't enjoy sitting on the lanai or being at the condo or the pool during the day. We contacted the owners who said that our only recourse was to try to find somewhere else to stay and that they didn't think they could even give us a discount. Much to our dismay, there was nowhere else to stay in the Wailea area and when we told the owner that he was extremely condescending and said he never would have rented the condo if he had known it would be "such a hassle" and he found it "hard to believe" we couldn't find another place to rent. Well we never would have rented it if we had known there was noisy construction!! They finally agreed to one and half nights free (out of 7!). We literally had to vacate the condo every day because of the noise and could not believe the poor customer service and attitude of the owners who acted as though we were making it up. We are frequent Maui visitors and will never stay here again - this was certainly no "gem". Normally I try to be pretty understanding of other people's situations and if they treated us a little more graciously I wouldn't be so perturbed - but the attitude of the owner was truly unbelievable.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 415 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2007

My family and I just returned from our winter trip to Maui. Although this was not our first trip to Maui, it was our first time staying in Wailea. We will not stay anywhere else! We went directly through the owners and had a great experience. It was no hassle, no problem! We did a lot of research prior to choosing our unit. I found Grand Champions unit #166 on mauiownercondos.com, but I also found them on vrbo, but don't remember the listing #. The owner is pleasant and helpfuland even assissted us in finding additional units. The unit has an Ocean and Golf Course view, is on the top floor, with high ceilings, and a great granite kitchen. The master bathroom has two shower heads...great for rinsing off the kids all at once after a day at the beach. Everything was so clean, comfortable, and well-maintained.

My kidsloved seeing their names on the welcome basket that was waiting for us. We felt like th owners really made a point to personalize our stay. We took full advantage of all the extra items that were in the unit. They have tennis rackets, boogie boards, towels, games, even an umbrella stroller, which came in handy. We really only needed to bring our clothes. There is a private washer and dryer, so we returned with clean clothes...what a time-saver!

There are many places to choose from in Waileam, but we felt this was a great value! We have already booked next years' trip. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank lindacrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We took a family trip and since Maui (especially Wailea) can get expensive, we figured we'd get condos to save a bit of money to spend during the vacation.

We requested two units, one 2 bedroom, one 3 bedroom, preferably close to each other. They did emphasize that they may or may not be able to accomodate, depending on availability. When the time came, our condos were on opposite sides of the complex, but we didn't mind.

One unit was great, kept well, clean, and had ocean views...well you have to lean out the balcony at just the right angle. No big deal, just being picky. The other was pretty dirty, spent a good couple hours cleaning the bathroom and kitchen. There was a roach problem since there was some leftover food stashed in the cupboards. We didn't spend a lot of time in the condo or the complex (the pool isn't worth it), but quite annoying nonetheless.

Bottom line with condos (in general), it really is hit or miss. We definitely saved a lot by going with a condo over a resort hotel, but there are tradeoffs. Next time, we'll just spring for the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hawaiiroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

I have stayed at Destination Hawaii's Grand Champions twice now... this trip I spent 4 weeks.

I was in a one bedroom condo that was amazing! Its large size and gourmet kitchen was a welcome considering most properties nearby are more 'hotel' styled and small. A extra large living-sitting area seperated the dining area as well as a large balcony from which I could watch the morning golfers and the waves coming in from the ocean.

I used both pools and enjoyed the fact that one is reserved for adults so its quiet! Parking was provided and even allowed guests to visit and park in selected locations. Honestly for the price and location it can not be beat! I travel YEAR-ROUND and its on my top 10 list for places to stay and play.

Unlike many of the 'Condo Resorts' that rent on the Island they were always friendly, provided daily house cleaning and even outfitted my condo with a nice welcome basket and checked on my comfort throughout my stay!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PDXpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2007

My wife and I were very disappointed in our stay at the "Grand Champion" that is managed by "Destination Resorts". The room we stayed in (room 13) was filthy & disgusting. I have lived in fraternity houses that were in better shape! Mice were running around the place constantly. The patio was dominated by ants & spiders. The beds are rock hard and make noise with any movement. There is a sign when entering the room that reads: "Please take off your shoes, Mahalo". Folks, the last thing you want to do is remove your shoes and walk around barefoot in that place. Also, be careful which pillow you decide to use while resting on the sofa, most of them are grungy. When I complained about the place to "Destination Resorts", the response I got was "Sorry sir, We don't own the properties, we just manage them. I will let the owner know" Nice! Maybe some rooms are better than others, who knows. Why gamble with your comfort & vacation, especially with a place that has a no refund, no recourse policy. Avoid this disaster, book elsewhere!!
P.S. The people who wrote rosy reviews on this place either don't know any better or had way too many Mai Tai's.

Stayed: January 2007
4  Thank jkourgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

Would NOT recommend this property. The unit we stayed in, #53, was shabby--old furniture, outdated appliances. Housekeeping was spotty; they came every day but simply changed the towels (did not even wipe down counter tops) and once every four days they vaccumed the carpets. The front desk is EXTREMELY unhelpful; we had a gecko (!) in our bedroom and they refused to answer the phone when we called a second time to see why they were not there to remove it.

We also wanted to print out our boarding passes before we left for the airport and they refused, asking us to go to an internet cafe instead. Also, they charge for everthing--cribs in rooms (which is included in all hotels for free--we've never been charged). Overall, considering the amount of money we paid, we expected and should have received much better customer service, and much better facilities.

PS: The Grand Champions condos are (at least ours was) shabby; but the customer service came to us via Destination Resorts--we booked through them and they were the ones manning (or in this case, being negligent at) the front desk.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Traveler030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2006

We recently stayed in this complex Aug-10 thru Aug-17, 2006 in unit #35 (2bd / 2bth), and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We were so at home here we actually looked into purchasing a unit. A housemaid came every morning to make the bed and do the dishes. The complex had two pools and 4 grills to bbq on. All the residents were very friendly. The condos are located fairly close to one of the main highways and plenty of shopping and golf in every direction. The local beaches are a little more than 5-10 min. away by car, and they are some of the most gorgeous beaches on the entire island. There is some construction going on right next door, but it didn't bother us (They typically don't start working until 8 a.m.). When we plan to do this again, we will definitely stay at Grand Champion Villas.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kplummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.5 mi away
Wailea Ekahi Village
Wailea Ekahi Village
#3 of 8 in Wailea
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Grand Champions Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Grand Champions Villas

Address: 155 Wailea Ike Pl, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Wailea
Price Range: $212 - $663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wailea Grand Champions Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Wailea golf resort with a country club feel is centered on 11 acres, amid the 18-hole Wailea Blue Golf Course. Select from garden or ocean view suites or golf front villas along the 6th, 7th and 8th holes, with ultimate views of well maintained fairways and sun-drenched strokes. Within this country club condo resort, you'll also find the world-class Wailea Tennis Center and stadium. The resort features two pools, two whirlpool spas and barbecue grills; and is located near The Shops at Wailea and popular Mokapu and Ulua beaches. Each 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, living/dining room area, private lanai and en-suite washer/dryer. Amenities include in resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping every third day, and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wailea Grand Champions Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Grand Champions Villas Hotel Wailea
Wailea Grand Champions Villas Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing