We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful condo, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wailea Ekolu Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Absolutely a wonderful stay at the Wailea Ekolu Village. To be honest there is no way anything could have been better at the price we were able to get. First of all, our flight was delayed and we did not arrive in Maui until after 2:00a.m. Destination Resorts had such situations covered so it was no problem getting checked in and receiving our keys.via a friendly security guard. They also allowed for us to have a late check out without any hassle.

We arrived to our condo and it was fabulous. Clean nice modern furniture that adhered to a Maui theme, Beautiful kitchen with fairly new appliances and everything you will need. Washer and Dryer. Beach towels, basically everything you need.

Wailea to me is the best area of the island. From what I understand it was the work of one man so it is more uniform and less chaotic and haphazard as other areas. Ekolu Village is a nice stroll to the Shops at Wailea, the beach and resort hotels. It seemed long at first but got shorter and shorter the more we did it, around 15 minutes at most.. We did not use the pool, but the area was clean and the pool was well kept.

Well, I believe I have said enough. Sorry it took so long to write this review but after being saved by Tripadvisor.com contributors, I felt it is my duty to help others by contributing. Anyways, if you are going to Maui do not hesitate to stay with Ekolu Village.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaydarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 162 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2008

We spend a week in unit 808, which we booked directly from the owners at VRBO. This condo is a wonderful place. Very clean, nice upscale furniture and kitchen, HDTV, great view from the lanai.

The grounds at Wailea Ekolu are beautifully landscaped and well maintained. Very quiet and peaceful (no noise problems as mentioned in a previous review in this unit).

The property is not located on the beach (but still has nice ocean views). However, it's only a 10-15 minute walk to the beach and we found it easier (and often faster) to walk than to drive and to try to find a place to park.

There are some restrictions on kids playing on the property here, so I would not recommend it for families with small children.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Widby2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

My husband and I and our 3 kids, 13,9, and 2 years old, stayed in unit 905, a 2 bedroom that we found through VRBO. The condo owners were very friendly and great to work with. The keys were mailed to us a week or so before we left for Maui with a postage paid envelope for returning them. Very convenient. The unit can be seen on mymauisunset.com.

The condo was wonderful, completely remodeled, beautifully decorated, and very clean with lots of extras like beach chairs, umbrella, boogie boards, sand toys, and a rainy day closet with games. There was an internet connection and a printer which was very handy for printing up our boarding passes for our return flight. There is an air conditioner for each of the 2 bedrooms and one for the main living area. The A/C was definitely needed in August, probably more so than in an oceanfront condo. The view was great and we heard no noise from either the road or the golf course (I’m only mentioning this because previous reviews for Ekolu had complained of noise). We never used the pool. No chance of having a turtle swim right by you (which happened twice, at 2 different beaches) in a swimming pool, so what’s the point?

The kitchen is well stocked with cooking implements and there is a grill on the lanai. We ate most of our meals in the condo, which I found much more relaxing than going out all the time. They also provided coffee which was another nice touch. And if you're trying to decide between a condo and a hotel I say the condo is worth it for the washer and dryer alone. I don't know what we would have done with all the wet beach towels and swimming suits in a hotel room.

We didn't really feel like the condo was close enough to the beach to walk so we drove to a different beach each day. An ocean front condo would have been nice, but I think we still would have been driving to different beaches most days so it wasn't really a sacrifice to be up away from the ocean. Plus, the walk from the condo to the car and then car to beach is a lot shorter than the walk to the beach from some "ocean front" properties. It also cost about half as much as we were planning on spending for an ocean front condo.

We stayed at Hana Kai in Hana for the first 2 nights of our trip and I definitely recommend staying 2 or 3 nights over on the east side of the island. The hike to Waimoku falls was the highlight of our trip, but it would have been tough to do after the drive to Hana, and the drive afterwards would have been even harder. Our favorite beach was po’olenalena. The snorkeling was great and very close to shore and the boogie boarding was pretty decent most of the time. We also had a great time at the beach in front of the Maui Prince. We had so much fun in Maui we are now looking for a condo for ourselves!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jillish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

I rented a condo from a private owner, unit 911 through vacationinwailea.com and it was excellent. The owners are local residents which adds a measure of security in the event you have issues while staying in the condo. We did not have any issues though. The condo has been recently updated and is in excellent condition. Staying in the Ekolu complex is very peaceful and it is a short walk or drive to the beach. The complex sits up the hill just enough to allow for incredible panoramic ocean views. It's an older complex but very well maintained. It's much cheaper than options across the street along the beach, yet you still have the ideal Wailea location.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Home-in-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

My family of 6 stayed here and were rudely told by a security guard to keep quiet while playing in one of the pools at 5:30 pm. "People spend alot of money to live here" we were told. It was obvious that someone who lives next to the pool can't stand the sound of laughter. I assure you it was just normal family fun, nothing loud at all. Reminded me of Del Boca Vista. After complaining to the owners, they gave us access to their beachfront unit's pool, which was alot of fun. Be sure to get a unit with a/c in the summer. Ours had none and the condo took all night to cool off, just to start the whole process over the next day (should have been suspicious when we found 7 assorted fans on check-in).

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank SantoTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

My family has just returned from a wonderful 9 night stay at the Wailea Ekolu in condo #1507. Everything that the owners promised they delivered on including a great ocean view from the spacious Lanai, peace and quiet, AC in the entire condo, full kitchen (newly renovated, too), etc etc. We spent many lovely quiet evenings watching the sun set on the pacific ocean and listening to nothing but birdsong.

The owners take great pride in their condo and it shows. The place was very clean and modern and they even left CDs and DVDs in the unit for us to use. The air conditioners were a bit loud, but I am not sure if that is just because I am not used to sleeping with one in the room.

We would stay there again and we happily recommend the place to others.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank calgarygirl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

My husband and I spent 10 WONDERFUL days in Ekolu Village, Unit #1703 in the middle of November 2006 for our honeymoon. We LOVED our condo and felt it was a very good deal! The community was very quiet...although I will agree with an earlier reviewer that the wooden slat shutters didn't go far in shutting out external noise. Since the community was so extremely quiet, this was never a problem for us. As the sun rose on our first morning in Maui, I fell in love with the view of paradise from our very private lanai and private garden. We had a sliding glass door that walked out to a secluded patio off of the master suite and two full sliding glass doors off of the living room revealing a clear view of the Pacific Ocean and the grounds below.

The living room doors opened up to a lovely lanai with a table and chairs where we had breakfast and coffee each morning as well as a lounge chair for sunning and two more chairs in the corner that made a nice area for reading, talking, and reflecting.

The unit had TWO electric grills that worked great (we saved a little money by preparing a few meals at the condo). The kitchen had just about everything we needed (except spices, of course) including pots, pans, dishes, glasses, microwave, dishwasher, roomy refrigerator/freezer (with ice maker) coffee maker, blender, knives, cutting board, and all of the necessary gizmos and gadgetry such as can openers, spatulas, slotted spoons, garlic press, etc... The living room was roomy and comfortable with a large TV, DVD/VCR, cable, couch chairs, etc., and a lovely dining room with the table nicely set.

The master suite was very nice with a comfortable king size bed. The two full baths were excellent. The entire condo was spotless and the grounds were immaculate! There were many other extra touches such as two fresh orchid leis and a nicely wrapped "honeymooners" present left for us on the table which was a beautiful Maui "coffee table" book that we will treasure as a souveir from this fabulous trip. Beach towels and fresh bath towels were provided daily. The front desk personnel were very helpful with giving directions, suggestions, and helping to make arrangements.

Wailea is a great place to stay if you want peace and quiet, but if you're searching for nightlife and shopping, this probably isn't the choice for you. My husband and I would LOVE to return to this condo in the future.

Stayed: November 2006
6  Thank cvnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wailea hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.9 mi away
Wailea Ekahi Village
Wailea Ekahi Village
#3 of 8 in Wailea
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.3 mi away
Wailea Grand Champions Villas
0.6 mi away
Wailea Elua Village
Wailea Elua Village
#2 of 8 in Wailea
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Ekolu Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Ekolu Village Resort

Address: 10 Wailea Ekolu Pl, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Wailea
Price Range: $260 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wailea Ekolu Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the slopes of Haleakala with incredible vistas of the Pacific Ocean, Molokini crater and the neighboring islands of Lana'i and Kahoolawe, this condo resort has an ideal location at the gateway to Wailea. Set among the plush Wailea beach resorts, with easy escape to discover and explore the island of Maui and perched amid an 18-acre tropical garden paradise with 2 pools, recreation pavilion and barbecue grills, it's just a tee shot away from the Wailea Blue Golf Course. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, living/dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. Amenities include resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping every third day, and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wailea Ekolu Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Ekolu Village Hotel Wailea
Wailea Ekolu Village Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing