We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
travelup.com
$2,138
View deal
Vio.com
$2,012
View deal
Official Website
Etrip$2,012
Algotels
Expedia.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,901)
Filter reviews
1,901 results
Traveler rating
1,592
192
79
27
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,592
192
79
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aerial yoga relais chateaux our honeymoon shuttle service mixology class romantic getaway pool area top notch ocean view open air beautiful property the hotel offers beach service turn down service fitness center four seasons beach access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
436 - 441 of 1,901 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2019

Hotel Wailea is a very beautiful property, but at prices usually starting at 650/night, I don't think you actually get a lot for your money. The room is big and spacious and its a smaller property than most other places. But here are some of the issues:
- you are 1 mile from the beach and there are steep hills making it difficult to walk. They will bring you in a car to their area of the beach which has a limited number of chairs/umbrellas. But since the hotel isn't there, you wouldn't be able to order a drink/food at the beach. and the beach service closes at 5pm (no umbrellas/towels, etc..)
- they charge a resort fee of 40 bucks/day but snorkels, paddle boards boogie boards are all rental fees (paddle boards are 40 bucks/hr! which is steep when you already charge a resort fee
- the pool is nice but small. you cannot swim laps and it gets crowded mid-late afternoon.
- did not think the service at the pool was that nice. frequently no towels, and no chairs available
- i think the resort makes the assumption that since you're spending so much money on the room, money is no object and you'll never even check what anything costs. It took asking 2-3 different people to ask what different things for the hotel would cost
- i think with all the awards, and the price, we just expected better service/experience.
That being said, we still had a fun time!

Date of stay: August 2019
7  Thank TaraS2589
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 17, 2019

I agree with other reviewers that Hotel Wailea is really good but just misses the mark as a Relais et Chateau. I think it comes down to the staff. Most were excellent and committed. But there were exceptions. Perhaps as a seasoned traveler and an ‘almost’ senior citizen I can expect more from a 5 star.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MarkusSchale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2019

Thank you very much for your four-star review and feedback. It is our mission to always improve in every area of the guest experience, and I will investigate and resolve any issues that may have arisen during your stay. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day.

Warm regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

Excellent service, great food, environment is one of a kind. The Treehouse Dinner was memorable, one on one with an excellent chef, beautiful views, very very special. We took advantage of many of their amenities and they were well done. I loved the valet service and the drives they provided - - really helpful.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank wayne309
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MarkusSchale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2019

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I am so pleased that you both enjoyed yourselves so thoroughly. I am thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable experience in the Treehouse. It is indeed perfect for such a special occasion! Congratulations again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

Hotel Wailea is an exceptional hotel that provides top tier adult only service. The property is very clean, neat, and well organized. The hotel grounds are immaculate and feature a beautifully designed man-made stream, waterfalls and ponds with a small walking trail. The pool is a quiet and mature place to relax with excellent drinks and bar service. Although this hotel is not directly on the beach, the shuttle service via jeep or Tesla is very efficient and a short friendly 5 min. drive.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank P Brent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MarkusSchale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2019

Thank you very much for your high praise. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Hotel Wailea soon!

Warm regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

The grounds and property layout at Hotel Wailea were great. Being inland from the ocean but having access to the beach was convenient and a nice amenity. The casitas were lovely for cooking in or having a bit more space to spread out than a typical hotel. While the reviews are what drew us to selecting this hotel I cannot say that I would return or that I would not return. The very basic touch points of service and hospitality were unable to be met by what appeared to be a constant shortage of staff working bell and valet. The staff was very friendly and accommodating but there was simply not enough people to serve the guests.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank aliciafritz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MarkusSchale, General Manager at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2019

Thank you very much for your comments. I appreciate your feedback and apologize for the temporary shortage of valet staff. We definitely understand that this is an important part of the guest experience as Maui has so much beauty to get out and explore during the day. We hope to welcome you both back again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews