We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whining about the wine dinner” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe on the Green - CLOSED

Cafe on the Green
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Owned and operated by the Makena Beach & Golf Resort and located above the Makena Tennis Club, the Cafe on the Green Restaurant is South Maui's hidden gem. Featuring fresh and tasty sandwiches, salads, burgers, Hawaiian local favorites and even a full scale bar, this restaurant provides breathtaking panoramic views of the Wailea and Makena area that compliments the restaurant’s great food and drinks. Open Daily for lunch and happy hour, experience live entertainment every evening from 4:30 PM - 6:30 PM alongside great sunsets. Come join us where life is always greener at Cafe on the Green!
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Whining about the wine dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful setting for a dinner. Gorgeous views and a great feel.

Visited for a special wine dinner. Service was off, food was not paired well, and there were too many people.

We booked wel in advance and our reservation had not been made when we called to confirm the day of.

They said they do this every month, but it did not show.

Lunch here is great, stay away from dinner events.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MauiDiner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbonilla_makena, Public Relations Coordinator at Cafe on the Green, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Aloha, we are sorry to hear about your experience being as such during our wine dinner. Our resort hosts wine dinners every month featuring a new distinguished winery or cellar every month. Unlike other wine tasting events we actually bring in the wine maker or a representative of the selected winery to host each event. We are sorry to hear that you felt that the wine and dishes created do not work well together. Our culinary team works closely with wine makers to design a menu that will pair well with their wines. In every event, we have the confidence of the winemaker that the dishes prepared by our executive chef will pair well with the presented wines. Unfortunately, this particular event you are referring to was the first time that the Makena Beach & Golf Resort had a wine event at the Cafe on the Green Restaurant, and we are sorry to hear that this change in venue was evident in your experience. Based on your feedback we are working to make sure that the next event at Cafe on the Green will reflect the excellence that our other wine events had at our other venue. We hope you will join us again for another one of our wine events in the coming months so that we may change your opinion in regards to our ability to hold these wonderful events. We thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A little pricey but the food was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Nice view which is what others have said. The food was pretty good too. I'm not sure I would go back thier again but I was glad I went the first time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvinature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The only thing that could be better is later hours....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We wound up eating dinner here twice, as we were staying at Makena Resort almost right across the street. The first time we just had happy hour drinks and appetizers. The second time we ordered from the regular menu. Both dinner experiences were excellent. In each case, the waitress was exceptionally attentative and friendly. The view is gorgeous. We found this little grill superior to the higher priced full service restaurant at the Makena Beach Resort where we were staying for dinner. The only downside is that the grill is attached to the golf course and therefore stops taking orders at 6:30 p.m. We would have loved it to have stayed open for business a little later, but still well worth the stop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool place to chill and enjoy happy hour with a awesome view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went for a late lunch and ended up staying for happy hour. Decent prices, good eats and nice staff. We enjoyed watching the whale activity from our table with a great view. I highly recommend Cafe on the Green.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hillary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Wow. Didn't expect that the food would be as good as the view. Had the shrimp rolls, sate sampler and ahi Niçoise salad for lunch. Early extremely well done and washed down with some refreshing beers. Perfect spot for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Westcoastboy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing