We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey, but very delicious!”
Review of Monkeypod Kitchen

Monkeypod Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Monkeypod Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wailea Ike Drive
Description: Monkeypod Kitchen by Merriman is a place where foodies, beer lovers, and families escape the stresses of their day-to-day lives by enjoying an ice-cold beer and a great meal while surrounded by people who consider them honored guests and friends. Our restaurants are founded upon a passion for craft and we are dedicated to mastering the craft of food, drink, and merrymaking...With Aloha! Our menu features fresh island fish, hand tossed pizzas from our kiawe wood-burning oven, and homemade cream pies made from scratch. Thirty-six craft beers are on tap, each served at an optimal twenty-nine degrees. Our culinary cocktails feature unique ingredients such as acai spirit, coconut water, and Kula lavender. Our passion for craft also extends to our diverse wine list, which emphasizes sustainability, drinkability and fun. Come join us at our communal table, with friends old and new, and learn what it's like to share our "Lucky Live Hawaii" story.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but very delicious!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The food and drinks here are delicious! We stayed in Wailea 5 nights and ate here 3 nights - it's that good! The fish and chips are delicious, and the burgers are great too. Their Mai Tais are one of a kind - try them! The only thing is it is a little pricey, but everything is in this resort area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SydneyCanzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,351
    1,406
    427
    149
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Find it early!!! You will be back!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very good and varied menu- from the garlic truffle fries to the fish tacos, we loved every bite! Good music for entertainment(but not too loud) and lovely helpful staff. I'm only sorry we did not find it sooner. Very good pricing, and they make their own cream pies every day- yum!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our only mistake was not going here the first night of our trip....once we made it here, it became our nightly dinner spot! So many wonderful entrees..the hamburgers are amazing and the drinks are one of a kind! We found the prices much better than the hotels and the quality and originality of the dishes kept us wanting to come back and try new things.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
927 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“A good experience!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Visited on the recommendation of a friend, pleasantly surprised! One thinks expensive in Wailea, it is but is is worth going. In a small mall on the top of Ike Drive and Piilani Hwy is this worth while restaurant. We came for the Happy Hour. (3:oo to 5:30 and 9 to 11) There is live music in the afternoon and great views from the Lani. Draught beer is $4.75 and cocktails are $6. Appies are half price or have a $9 pizza. We had the Jalapeño Poppers, Wings, and the Pizza.....all excellent. They have an extensive beer menu; many local beer and micro breweries from around te world. The beer is served at 29 degrees...really good. There is a kids menu and many locals eat here as well. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food !”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place was very near to the Makena Golf and Beach resorts where we stayed. Great food, convenient timings, affordable prices and a good happy hour too. You will always find this place packed with people. Good options for vegetarians. I will recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazzy_184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkeypod Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Monkeypod Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing