We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view of the beach at dusk”

Humuhumunukunukuapua'a
Ranked #16 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great view of the beach at dusk”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

it was no Mama's, however, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the server took great care of us. We topped off our meal with a creative dessert.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    307
    193
    93
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Grand View, not grand food”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Expensive food, mediocre taste, disinterested waiter, wonderful view, wonderful setting, disappointed with overall cuisine. We ate at a different restaurant each night of our vacation in Maui. We thought this would be one of the outstanding selections and decided this was not the case. Our waiter was a bit argumentative, not attentive and not very articulate about the offerings. I thought I was ordering the snapper as a special dish. It was expensive and ordinary, not a special dish worthy of the high price. We were hungry and ate the food, we did not savor the food. We did savor the sunset, the view of the ocean and sounds of the luau next to the restaurant. None of these experiences justified the high price of the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique ambiance, very good food”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We ate here after reading the reviews on trip advisor. The ambiance was great. The restaurant is open air, thatched roofed huts over a lagoon with tropical fish. I read other reviews that said their waiters gave them fish food to feed the fish. I wish our waiter had offered this. Our table was in the bar and right on the water. The sunset was beautiful.
The food was very good. We both had the same thing so I can only comment on one entree. We had the macadamia nut crusted mahi mahi with purple sweet potatoes. It was cooked perfectly and paired well with the potatoes. The hula pie for dessert was very good as well.
As expected from The Grand Wailea, prices were expensive. The drinks I felt were outrageously priced, but that is also par for the course at resorts.
Overall, we had a nice dinner and the view made it all the more better.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tripseeker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon dinner ”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here for dinner twice during our stay at the Grand Wailea. The first time the food was great and the service was okay. We had surf & turf and the blackened snapper. Both very good!! The second time we had filets again and they were just ok. Not cooked as well as the previous time and the cut was a little different. Our waiter was awesome though and so was the manager. He stepped outside to take our photo at sunset, they also gave us dessert on the house since we were honeymooning. They really went out of their way for us to make sure we had a great experience. Overall, good restaurant and top notch service just like the hotel. Would eat here again!

Helpful?
Thank Chrissyec3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a visit”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Definitely the best restaurant at the Grand Wailea. Everything we ordered was just perfect. Try book when sun is about the go down, view was excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidB1005_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humuhumunukunukuapua'a also viewed

 

Been to Humuhumunukunukuapua'a? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing