We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view while dining”

Humuhumunukunukuapua'a
Ranked #16 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belgrade, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view while dining”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The view of the ocean and pools surrounding the restaurant was amazing. Fish were swimming everywhere! The food presentation was nice and taste was good. That was my first pacific lobster.....I think I will stick with Maine lobster from now on. My daughter's chicken dish was a little too spicy for her but she liked it for the most part. We did have an annoying child sitting fairly close to us and the family pretended like nothing was happening! Other people had their waitresses move them to another table. We had already been served so made the best of it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cathy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    307
    193
    93
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

After reading so many reviews on this place, we were looking forward to a romantic dinner for two. Although the food was good and the setting was beautiful, the service fell flat and everything was overpriced for what you actually received. We paid $16 each for Mai Tais that were "just okay." Our server was certainly knowledgeable, but we kept getting an impatient and snobby vibe from her. The restaurant was busy, and there were a lot of families with kids, so it was louder than I was expecting. Service was slow, even for enjoying a romantic dinner with your sweetie. We got our dessert to go so we could go enjoy it in our room. Honestly, you get more for your money and much better food & service at Japengo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EventPlanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the grand for a week and what an amazing experience. The Humu bar/ restaurant was as we read before a bit pricey but if you go during happy hour at the bar, they do a buy one get one half off that is amazing. The bartenders were both awesome funny and fun to chat with and our service couldn't have been better. We're already planning for our trip back next year!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunset, Amazing Food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived at Humuhumu around 5.30 so we could get a good view of the sunset over dinner and we were not disappointed. This place has a wonderful ambience and atmosphere and if you like fine dining you must come and try.

We tried the Poke and the Scallops for Pupus - delicous!
For mains it was the Filet Mignon with Garlic Mashed Potato and it was excellent.
Then it was time for dessert, a must try is the Huma Hula Pie, cant rave about it enough. Also tried the cheesecake (deconstructed) and both were was amazing.

Definitely a restaurant for a nice romantic dinner rather than a family venue. Cant complain about anything, the service was great, the food was great. Big thanks to Chef Mike and Chef Eric for their wonderful creations. I am just disappointed we left it until our last night to eat here because we definitely would have been back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The server before the appetizers was great. She didn't come back until our meals where done. Never came back to check on us. We asked another server for something she blew us off. We ate in an hour....... So sad......

Helpful?
1 Thank Damdoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humuhumunukunukuapua'a also viewed

 

Been to Humuhumunukunukuapua'a? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing