We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and atmosphere, good food”

Humuhumunukunukuapua'a
Ranked #16 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
River Ridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great views and atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed at the Grand Wailea and had dinner here our first night, mainly because we were tired and we didn't want to drive anywhere. This restaurant is pricey but we did enjoy our dinner very much with the exception of the fried rice which we ordered for our daughter (it's a side dish). She usually likes fried rice but she refused to eat it and after trying it I didn't blame her so we sent it back. Otherwise, everything was very good. I ordered the diver scallops and my husband had fish (mahi mahi I think). They gave our daughter a little cup of fish food to feed the fish in the lagoon and she loved watching them swarm together to eat the food. A nice extra was the stuffed humu fish our waitress gave our daughter (who was delighted!) at the end of the meal.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeckyandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    307
    193
    93
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
301 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Service was good BUT”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

overrated. reservation process is unaccomodating as i have found.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“cold food”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

it looked good on the menu but the flavors and temperature werent right.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average Food and Very Stinky Pond!”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The Grand Wailea hotel really tried to promote this restaurant, apparently because business isn't doing too well (it's a large restaurant and always seemed empty, even over dinner time). We were given a $40 gift certificate to spend there, so we tried the restaurant out. The service was very good (our server was very attentive) but the food was mediocre. The most unfortunate thing about the restaurant is that it sits above an enormous salt-water pond with fish in it. The pond is almost stagnant, and has a strong offensive seaweed/rotting odor, which made our so-so meals even more unappetizing.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsfromCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and swank!”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We did not stay in this hotel but stopped by for a sunset drink. This place is beautiful! Just walking to the restaurant was such a pleasure. It is just swanky but so inviting at the same time. The views of the ocean and sunset were memorable to say-the-least. To our (happy) surprise we arrived during happy hour; which was a great deal that we took great advantage of! Our gracious bartender even poured drinks into plastic cups so that we could walk down to the beach and enjoy the sand in our toes while the sun set. We were staying away from the beach in a cabin at the time, so this was such a nice treat!

Would absolutely recommend coming here at least for a drink and the sunset. We will definitely dine next time!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank life_love_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humuhumunukunukuapua'a also viewed

 

Been to Humuhumunukunukuapua'a? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing