We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise on the beach!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wailea, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
murtle264
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Paradise on the beach!”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

When I was planning our family vacation for my wife and 2 adult sons, I spent countless hours researching, talking to friends, etc. As I am a supporter of Tripadvisor, I also searched the site for available units. Through a stroke of luck, I contacted Maui Vacation Advisors and after a number of back and forth emails was introduced to this unit that is right on Makena Surf Beach. I was a little sceptical as it appeared the unit had not been reviewed in a few years and the pictures that were provided, looked a little staged. I can tell you honestly that this unit is more than I expected. The 3 bedroom, 3 bath room unit, has a large walk in shower in the master, 2 terraces to lounge on, the front terrace which directly overlooks Makena Surf beach is where we spent 90% of our time watching snorkelers come to Turtle Town right in front of the unit, watching the +30 weddings that took place on the beach over the 2 week period we were there. The building was quiet, well stocked with all the amenities and untensils for an enjoyable stay. It is close to no less than 5 large resorts with 5 star restaurants, the shops of Wailea boutique shopping, numerous fabulous restaurants and a championship golf course. Access is easy, secured and convenient for quickly heading out to explore Maui and all it has to offer. In addition, the very personal service we received from Jennie who greeted us at 11pm to introduce us to the amenities, to Sydney the concierge for Tropical Villas Vacations the property managers who arranged our rental equipment, Luau reservations and golf tee times. They were only a phone call away and responded in record times. For my family and I, this was an unbelievable trip of a life time which we will cherish forever. Thanks to all who contributed.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being right on the beach for views and access to a beautiful relatively quiet beach.
Liked least: The only thing that we can say that was absolutely great but may need to be updated in the future, is the unit was likely 10 to 15 years old and although it was decorated professionally at the time, the decor is a little dated.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2015
Thank you so very, very much for your time to post a review for us regarding Sunny Surf E301, a 3 bedroom villa at Makena Surf managed by Tropical Villa Vacations. Your support is invaluable to us! We appreciate that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you again on Maui someday soon!

Thank you again for your kindness and words of support.

Tropical Villa Vacations Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewed July 20, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Date of stay: June 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TX
Reviewed July 4, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Date of stay: June 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fredericton Canada
Reviewed May 25, 2012 for a stay in March 2011

Date of stay: March 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mslacats
Missoula, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“The perfect vacation home away from home”
Reviewed April 3, 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Every part of our stay here was wonderful. From the reservation process to our check out. The condo was fabulous. Whatever we needed they had in the condo for us. This was the perfect spot for our family. The beach which was a short walk from our condo and was beautiful. All our boys wanted to do was play in the waves at the beach. We didn't try any other beaches because everyone said this one was the best. The condo had plenty of room for the 5 of us. We loved to sit on the deck and watch the whales and dolphins play right in front of us. The condo was a perfect place to come home to after our long day exploring. So comfortable and relaxing. It was hard to leave. We are already making plans to go back and stay here. Tropicalvilla was great too. I would absolutely stay at any of their properties. They were so helpful with renting boogie boards for us and making reservations for dinner and the luau. They even helped us find a place to watch our hometown college football game.

Date of stay: December 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noca1
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2015
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2015
Thank you for posting, however, we believe that this review was posted erroneously here. Our unit is in the E building on the top floor villa 301 called Sunny Surf. We do not show a record of a Spanish speaking guest in our apartment over this time period. Also the review mentions some conditions such as an older washing machine that is not the case here. The washing machine in E301 is new as of just a few years ago. They may have mistaken our apartment with another 301 unit in a different building. Each of the buildings in Makena Surf have the same unit numbers but are the B, C, F and G buildings other than E.

Best Regards,
Tropical Villa Vacations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing