We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality of food overshadowed by poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kai Wailea - CLOSED

Kai Wailea
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Alanui Dr.
Chelsea, Canada
1 review
“Quality of food overshadowed by poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our group of 4 had made a reservation and were promptly seated, but the quality of our experience went downhill from there. We waited over an hour for our sushi and watched people that came in after us being served before us. We ordered a sashimi plate with 3 slices of 4 types of fish and 2 shrimp and a 2 combination plates with 1 roll and 6 nigiiri, which is not really a huge quantity of sushi. When we questioned both the server and the host we were told only that there was 1 sushi chef. We were offered no form of compensation for our patience and understanding. We also watched other patrons leave and cancel orders because of poor services. Seems the only way for this restaurant to get the message is for people to avoid it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    27
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi, overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was recommended to us when asking about sushi places. It was really good sushi, but overpriced.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hamayelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and well priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

not too complicated and definitely more food than we could eat.
Hope to go back soon...
Liked suchi
disliked wine selection

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Sushi Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stopped here for lunch with the family and was thoroughly impressed with the quality of sushi. The fish was all fresh and tasted like it was caught that day. The rice was also very fresh. Very accomadating for small children as well. They specially made a roll for my 2 year old son. If you are shopping or just in the area, check it out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mkilburn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outrageous Behaviour”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The food was not bad here, but the service was extremely poor. The night we went there we were left standing at the door for at least 15 minutes before being allocated to a table, although the restaurant appeared half empty. Another couple left after being left for ages without any explanation from the manager, who appeared frazzled and under the thumbs of his staff.

My main gripe is with the waitresses on duty that night. The woman serving us was inattentive and lackadaisical in attitude. She then took half an hour to return our change. She was not busy, which was evident from the conversations she was carrying on with the bar staff and other waitresses. It was quite obvious that this woman hoped we would leave without the change. This was a large amount of change and we felt it was way too much to leave on this occasion, especially due to the poor service we received. Worst of all, as we were waiting for our change, the waitress consulted with another waitress who then turned around and gave me a deliberate smirk. I was outraged by this behaviour and I was quite annoyed that my husband still left a 10% tip.

My husband and I are experienced travellers and have eaten in restaurants all over the world. I must say we have never experienced such a lack of integrity from any wait staff. The manager needs to put his foot down and take charge in this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m00dle255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing