We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service poor attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kai Wailea - CLOSED

Kai Wailea
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Alanui Dr.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Poor service poor attitude”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The food was not bad for a Japanese restaurant. Poor communication skills of manager. This was also reflected in the don't care attitude of servers. Poor attitude of staff made this restaurant quite unpleasant to sit in despite the food. Won't be recommending this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dd k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    27
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great care for my babies”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We had an early lunch here, we love quality sushi so the prices were not over the top for us.
As soon as I walked in with two babies, the lady immediately got two high chairs and some colouring-in activities for the eldest.
The food was delightful, soft and fresh. My husband had the teriyaki chicken and he made sure there was no sign of marinade left on his plate, it was sweet and sticky and very tasty.
Reading some other reviews, I see there are mixed opinions on this place. Don't walk in expecting to walk out with just a Californian hand roll, this place is classier than that. It was peaceful, very clean and spacious.
I do admit though to being there before standard lunchtime, so it was very very quiet.

Helpful?
Thank Ronni68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Keep trying, keep getting disappointed”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Each time we vow to drive into Kihei for sushi but alas we never do. We tried Kai again and encountered the same problems - slow service and overall "don't care" attitude. Called to place an order for pick up and it was 45 minutes late from the time we were supposed to pick it up. Restaurant was 1/4 full when we went in and still no reason why it was delayed. For the bad service and the expensive food it would be worth the drive into Kihei.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Needs more selection for lunch”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The sushi itself was great, portions perfect and service great. But for lunch, the selections were geared towards tourists. With fresh seafood just steps away, it sucked that choices were - California rolls, maguro, salmon and unagi. If they were really smart, they would offer more local offerings and then the high price point would make sense. I thought it was too pricey to return to this mall location.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ericamcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
192 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Sashimi Lunch, Fresh & Nice Presentation”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a lovely, casual lunch at Kai just last week during a wonderfully relaxing trip to Maui. Quite accidentally, we found Kai in the Wailea shopping center. (By the way: the beach at Wailea is amazing....).

We are quite the sushi lovers, typically having at least one sushi/sashimi meal per week whether at home or traveling if we can find one with good reviews. As someone who appreciates good quality sushi in a quiet atmosphere, I do not understand the negative reviews. Perhaps it was just a bad day, or the diners had a different expectation. I am sorry about that because we had such a pleasant experience!

Kai is a smallish restaurant with kind and prompt service, excellent fish and is very well priced. In a bit if a hurry, we both ordered the sashimi assortment lunch, as we assumed it could be easily and quickly prepared. This beautiful dish was presented in an attractive bowl, the fish layered on a small bed of rice, somewhat resembling a donburi bowl. Every piece of sashimi was fresh and of quality. We both thoroughly enjoyed our quick lunch in this restaurant.

If staying in Wailea or just spending the day at the beautiful beach and enjoying shopping, please stop in and enjoy Kai Wailea. I cannot speak for the dinner experience, but they provided us a wonderful sashimi lunch. We hope to enjoy it again soon.

Aloha!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuburbanWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing