We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turtle Reef Kayak Tour of Makena, Maui
256

Book in advance
from
$106.46
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Makena Beach
from $106.46
More Info
from $138.72
More Info
from $106.46
More Info
from $179.00
More Info
Reviews (1,017)
Filter reviews
1,017 results
Traveler rating
687
253
47
14
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
687
253
47
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking lot porta potties food truck on duty big waves life guards makena state park body surf beautiful sand soft sand fish lifeguards beach water shade rocks swimmers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 1,017 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2019 via mobile

We went on this beach to just look at the surfers . There are big waves and personal I would be afraid to get into the water . There were many people there though trying to surf, including big kids. There is a small forest right behind , you can also take the path through it to get to the road. There is a safeguard there, as well, within specific hours. Beautiful beach to relax and watch courageous people adventure, as well as dog friendly.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank diangeltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 20, 2019 via mobile

Amazing beach. One of our favorite on Maui. Been back to this beach many times over ten years. This year was the first time we had personal belongings stolen. Make sure you keep an eye on your stuff!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Rollingstone1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 18, 2019

I'm sure the locals hate us talking about this because because it's a hidden gem.This beach by far was the best beach we were on in Maui. Soft sand, gentle waves and beautiful view. Not too crowded when we went late Sept.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank JayLyonsSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 18, 2019

The beach is amazing; but the currents are quite strong. Do not go in the water unless you are a good swimmer.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

Chilled here for a good portion of the day. Great beach, we will spend several days here. Nice sand, very few rocks in the water. Almost like a Hollywood movie set beach. Several tips. There are 2 entrances. If you intend to snorkel, try the south lot to save a long walk. Snorkeling is best on the south side near the rocks. There are 2 active lifeguard towers here. Several outhouses near the parking areas in case that kind of nature calls but it is a long haul back from the beach so go before you go. Only one downside and one warning. Downside, there are no showers here. Not really that big of a deal but sweat+walking in the sand means you will have some on ya when you get back to the car. The warning - the food vendor Jawz, the Mahi tacos were not all that fresh. Mahi should never taste fishy but it did so consider that a fair warning. With that said - the all fruit smoothie for $7 was totally worth it.

Date of experience: June 2019
3  Thank hollywoodspeedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews