We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Buffet”

Grand Dining Room at Grand Wailea Resort
Reserve with OpenTable
Grand Dining Room at Grand Wailea Resort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wailea Ike Drive
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had breakfast here almost every day. This was an incredible buffet. There is absolutely something for everyone. The kids found lots of things they like and the adults loved the food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    80
    47
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“breakfast buffet”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

$30 pp for all you can eat, great selection but nothing spectacular, in fact same old breakfast foods in a fancy room with a great view. Menu could use a make over with some unique items to make special, not same old "made to order omelets " and pancakes

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank stuffnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Update - It gets worse.....”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Following on from my recent damning review of this hotel ( which you may have read) which mentioned the dreadful wait times at this restaurant amongst other issues - I wrote to the Waldorf Astoria head office to complain. I copied the letter to the hotel during my stay - which was completely ignored by the hotel management. However, the head office obviously told the management to respond - today - a week later by priority mail. ( "..following your letter to the Head office we are responding.....")

I have never read a more dreadful disingenuine response. In summary, a list of excuses why everything we complained about was true, but there was nothing they could do - but they will attempt some staff training... (basically - we are very busy and that's the way it is)

In my opinion the letter was written only after the head office gave them a well deserved kick to respond - otherwise I believe we would have continued to be ignored ( like every other complainant I imagine) Yes, there was a half hearted apology, which was then totally and utterly diluted by the hotel manager justifying the poor service and lack of shade because they work on 'full capacity'.

Unacceptable, and I will be writing to the CEO and telling him that (along with several overcharges on the bill we discovered since arriving home)

It's so sad to see so many poor reviews, because I know each one is precious, valuable holiday time spoilt. I only hope the genuine reviews here make people stay away - as I fear only significant financial pressure through falling bookings will make this management change it's dreadful attitude.

My heartfelt advice? Stay well away and spend your hard earned cash somewhere where it benefits you - and also benefits a business with integrity - I'm my opinion certainly not the Grand Wailea

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naturalskincarelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet - YES!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Breakfast Buffet was excellent! Everything imaginable, displayed quite appetizingly, excellent service both at the omelet or waffle bar as well as at the table. The mix of pineapple, orange and guava juice is highly recommended! Pricey but worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank E2M-coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go next door to Four Seasons, if you can”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The view is nice, the location is great if you're staying at GW, but the service and food are only mediocre at best. The line to put in your name for a table, then the wait to be called are just the beginning. Then you'll be treated to birds eating off of the uncleared plates of other diners while you eat your fairly average food. They can't do anything about the birds (it happens everywhere), but the wait staff is fairly apathetic. Don't get me wrong - it's not bad, but it's far from great and mostly shy of "good".

If you have the time to walk over, spend $5/person more and go to Duo at Four Seasons instead. You will be amazed at the difference, in both food and service.

My guess is this place stays like this because so many groups and packages include breakfast, so they aren't motivated to improve it. Most people will just shovel it down to get to the pool as quickly as possible, and this does that job for that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleTravelerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Dining Room at Grand Wailea Resort also viewed

 

Been to Grand Dining Room at Grand Wailea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing