We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Ko Restaurant

Ko Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ko Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 50 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kaukahi Street
Transit: The nearest Bus stop is located at the Shops of Wailea Maui.
Description: Executive Chef Tylun Pang leads the culinary masterpiece of Kō, the only fine dining restaurant on Maui to offer cuisine inspired by Maui’s sugarcane plantation era. Located at The Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea, Kō features island family recipes and includes farm-fresh Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese menu items with a contemporary twist.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

As a guest of the Kea Lani we were encouraged to try this award winning restaurant. My wife and I arrived at the hostess stand without reservations for dinner and were anything but greeted as a result. Despite it being later in the evening and about 50% capacity, it appeared that we were disrupting their evening by arriving without a reservation. We had an appetizer and shared an entree that also seemed to rub the service the wrong way. The food was average, and not worth the money. I would recommend Nick's on property or walking along the beach to the Four Seasons or Grand Wailea for better options at this price point.

Thank BradyH855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

We truly apologize for level of service you received while dining at Kō. Please be assured that the team is trained to provide high quality and engaging service and we can’t apologize enough for missing the mark. Your comments have been passed on to the Kō Manager for future training opportunities. We hope you will return and give us another chance to provide the award-wining dining experience we are known for. Best wishes and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 849 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were told by a travel advisor not to miss having dinner at Ko. The wine pairing dinner included fabulous food, and good (but not great) wine samplings. Service was impeccable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mqrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for choosing Ko for your recent dinner. It's wonderful that you took advantage of our monthly Winemakers Pairings Menu. The three course menu and wines do change monthly, so we invite you to return in the future to try a new selection of wines that may better suit your tastes. We appreciate you recognizing the excellent service and look forward to seeing you again. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Eat here! Splurge and eat here. The food, especially the ahi on the hot stone and the zarzuela fish stew are out do this world. The service is efficient and unobtrusive, while still warm and welcoming. Ask the servers for recommendations...they won't steer you wrong. Make sure to make reservations. Would dine here daily if possible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ColoradoSkykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your terrific review! Our team strives to balance attentive service with a relaxing dining experience, so it's incredibly rewarding to learn that we achieved this with you. We appreciate all your kind comments and will be sure to share your review with the staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Love this restaurant. Stayed at Fairmont twice, and was pleased both times. Wonderful surprise to see Ko's offer some of my favorite Filipino dishes such as lumpia and pork barbecue. Casual yet cozy atmosphere by the pool.

1  Thank Thelma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Wow - We love that you love Kō! We’re thrilled that you had such a wonderful dining experience and that you especially enjoyed your favorite Filipino dishes! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had many meals at Ko during our stay in Wailea. They seduce you with the view, service, and quality of food and drink. No need to leave the Fairmont.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank travelpro2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Wow –Thank you for dining at Kō several times during your stay and for sharing just how much you enjoyed the ambiance, the food and everything in between. We'll look forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Maui! A hui ho!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ko Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing