We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KO Resturant review”
Review of Ko Restaurant

Ko Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ko Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 50 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kaukahi Street
Transit: The nearest Bus stop is located at the Shops of Wailea Maui.
Description: Executive Chef Tylun Pang leads the culinary masterpiece of Kō, the only fine dining restaurant on Maui to offer cuisine inspired by Maui’s sugarcane plantation era. Located at The Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea, Kō features island family recipes and includes farm-fresh Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese menu items with a contemporary twist.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We are fortunate to be able to visit Maui, more specifically Wailea, every year for a month at a time.
We especially enjoy the various dining experiences.
On our 2013 trip we visited the KO restaurant located in the Fairmont Hotel. It was an enjoyable experience, service was good and the food was excellent, in fact we made a choice to eat at KO a second time during our 2013 visit. Both experiences were good.
Upon our return to Maui this year, 2014, we were looking forward to dinner at KO one again.
I really am NOT picky about restaurants, but this visit was a dramatic change from any of our previous visits to KO.
As we entered the restaurant it was immediately noticeable that no attention was paid to the cleaning of bird droppings from the top of the table high walls boarding the dining area, if you were seated (as we were) next to the three foot wall you were staring at dried bird droppings!!
When ordering our meals (a shrimp dish and a fish dish) I emphasized to our waiter that the shrimp and fish need to be COOKED THROUGH, he acknowledged the order and subsequently delivered our meals BOTH UNDER COOKED, in fact the fish was cold in the center.
Although our waiter apologized, and took the fish back to the kitchen and delivered the re-cooked fish in approximately 15 minutes, my wife had finished her meal, leaving us both to eat alone.
In summation……It will be a VERY long time before I visit KO again. They have a lot of work to do to rehabilitate this restaurant. I left wondering how a restaurant of this caliber, could fall so quickly.
To be fair about this review, the manager of KO did NOT charge me for the cold fish dish.
Very disappointing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank parlonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

While we appreciate you returning to Kō for the 3rd time, we sincerely apologize that you were let down. The Kō team strives to provide a high level of service, cleanliness, enjoyable ambiance and cuisine that best represents our award-winning signature restaurant. We're truly sorry that we failed with you. Your valuable feedback will be shared with the team. We hope you will give us another chance to provide a five-star experience in the future. Warmest aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 866 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

What a great meal at the poolside setting at Ko. Had dinner with a party of 10 and everyone raved about their dinner. From fish to lamb to a great Caesar, everything was just very well done.

Thank Merrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We visit Ko's every year to check out the Quality and current specials, again they do not disapoint!

The service was first rate, helpful without being overbearing, the Frest Fish was done to perfection, and the portions were just right.

The Kama'aina special gives you one free entree for one purchased, and drirnks are 25% off, they add 18% service to the bill, but I think this was fine considering the great service.

If you have Kama'aina status it is a deal , if you don't it is still a great restaurant for a special dinner.

Foir Stars for Ko's !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Microblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My girlfriend and I at here on two separate occasions during our week in Maui; the dinner was one of the best we had during the week. The service was great and the food was very creative but also very great quality which is typically a tough ask. We also had a late lunch here and were pleased to find that they offer a happy hour promotion with great pricing for food and drinks. The bartender actually told us about it even though he could have just let us order off the regular menu, very nice. would definitely return if we are back in Maui

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We've been here many times--Tom, Roland and Noel always provide exceptional service. I appreciate going to a place where the servers know you and anticipate your needs before you have ask. No question, we'll be back and as a usa today road warrior won't hesitate to recommend you. Mahalo!

Thank mauiskychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ko Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing