We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy "Happy Hour" After Golf” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ko Restaurant

Ko Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kaukahi Street
Transit: The nearest Bus stop is located at the Shops of Wailea Maui.
Description: Executive Chef Tylun Pang leads the culinary masterpiece of Kō, the only fine dining restaurant on Maui to offer cuisine inspired by Maui’s sugarcane plantation era. Located at The Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea, Kō features island family recipes and includes farm-fresh Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese menu items with a contemporary twist.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Happy "Happy Hour" After Golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I had just finished playing Wailea Emerald and we were returning to our hotel about 3:30 PM. As we were passing the Ko bar just off the lobby, so we decided to go in and try their Happy Hour drinks and menu.
We ordered drinks first - something tropical with pineapple and coconut for the bride, and I had a martini up - Plymouth gin "in the well" - very classy.
We then turned to the menu and started with the spring rolls. They were thin and crispy, with a variety of fillings, the perfect accompaniment to what was now our second cocktail. The spring rolls came with delicious dipping sauces and we polished them off very quickly, so back to the menu for more.
We chose two items next - the Oisha sushi and the Korean style spicy chicken. The sushi was dipped in tempura batter and then crisped, in the fryer, I guess. It was great. And the Korean chicken was everything I'd want to find in a "wing" type snack. Perfectly cooked with a sticky spicy coating - honey, the menu said. Tasty, tasty.
While we were eating and drinking, we made friends with several of the staff, and fellow happy hour attendees, comparing home towns, and talking about our favorites in the upcoming Super Bowl. It was a great way to spend the balance of our afternoon. A "happy" hour in every sense of the word!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Aloha and thank you for joining us at Kō's for Happy Hour. We’re thrilled you and your wife enjoyed the drinks, food and especially the ‘happy’ company. We truly appreciate your suggestions for future diners and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    207
    114
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Incredible atmosphere and waitstaff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Made reservations a few days in advance couldn't wait to have the Paella......then.....ordered it....ate it....it was just ok....I was somewhat disappointed. Also ordered the rock.....we cooked our own tuna on a very hot rock...this was very cool!!

For desert the banana lumpia.....to die for....very yummy!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cabinfever2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. While we are happy you enjoyed the Ahi on the Rock and the banana lumpia, we apologize that the Paella entrée failed to meet your expectations. Next time you visit, we hope you will give Ko another chance. Best wishes and aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A very nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

As a disclaimer, we only had lunch at Ko. The food was quite good and the drinks tasty. We didn't have dinner, but heard from others that it was great!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kab2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food - good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had their features sushi appetizer and whole fish entree. Delicate, flavorful and a nice zip to the spicy sushi roll.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place, over-priced, average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This restaurant has a beautiful decor and good menu, but the pricing is high compared to other destinations in the area and the service was average at best.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your honest review. While we are happy you enjoyed the ambiance and the menu options, we're very sorry that the service level and pricing didn't match your overall dining experience. Next time you visit, we hope you will give Kō another chance. Best wishes and aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ko Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing