We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Plantation Inspired Cuisine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ko Restaurant

Ko Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kaukahi Street
Transit: The nearest Bus stop is located at the Shops of Wailea Maui.
Description: Executive Chef Tylun Pang leads the culinary masterpiece of Kō, the only fine dining restaurant on Maui to offer cuisine inspired by Maui’s sugarcane plantation era. Located at The Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea, Kō features island family recipes and includes farm-fresh Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese menu items with a contemporary twist.
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
248 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Fresh Plantation Inspired Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We try to eat fresh and light so Ko's menu was perfect on our first night at the Fairmont. We spent a fraction of the cost of a regular meal by sharing the seared ahi salad and a macro meal - and we were perfectly satisfied. The macro meal was three courses full of high-quality greens, veggies and rice. We liked it so much we had it again at the pool the next day. Ko is a beautiful restaurant and, for us, the best in Wailea. The only reason it didn't get a 5 rating was that it was very difficult to get the bartender's attention throughout our meal and they completely forgot the dessert course until we were about to leave.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Aloha! We’re very proud that you consider Kō restaurant to be the best in Wailea. While we’re thrilled you enjoyed our popular Lifestyle Cuisine Plus menu, we couldn’t be more disappointed that the level of service from the bar was lacking. Your feedback is very important and will help support our continuous training efforts. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    207
    114
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Went for lunch and dinner. We enjoyed both very much. Service is fantastic and the food is terrific. Pricing, but worth it. Highly recommend

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Talk about an amazing Happy Hour...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The choice of Happy Hour pupu's with very entertaining bartenders who make yummy drinks. This is an especially excellent treat for Kama'aina.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mary margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent food and great service with a beautiful outlook and atmosphere. We visited several restaurants in the Wailea resorts and this one was our favourite. We could have eaten here every night and never been bored by the range and quality of food. Just exceptional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Wow! We’re so proud that Kō is your favorite Wailea restaurant! It’s truly a pleasure to know that you had an exceptional dining experience and enjoyed everything from the ambiance to the plantation-era inspired cuisine. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be passed on Chef Tylun Pang and the Kō team. Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, poor value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had read many of the previous reviews before giving this a chance. As we weren't staying at the hotel and doing our trip on more of a limited budget than some we decided to give this place a chance when we saw the restaurant week deal.

When we got there the woman who sat us briefly mentioned the deal which was stuffed in the back of the cocktail menu and our server didn't even acknowledge it until we asked for it. The experience made us feel a bit like cheapskates for coming for an advertised deal. We started with cocktails which were phenomenal. My appetizer (the chop salad) was good but lacked any real spice or kick. I had a chicken second course which was done very well, was amazing food and if it was the only thing I ate I would have given the food 5 stars. I finished up with the custard which was much too rich and thicker and more solid than I expected a custard to be.

While seated outside there are nice palm trees which gives a great ambiance; but no spectacular views other than that to be had.

I think if the food weren't so expensive I would have given this a higher rating; however, for the cost I expected the food to be better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DlkAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ko Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing