We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”
Review of Ko Restaurant

Ko Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ko Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kaukahi Street
Transit: The nearest Bus stop is located at the Shops of Wailea Maui.
Description: Executive Chef Tylun Pang leads the culinary masterpiece of Kō, the only fine dining restaurant on Maui to offer cuisine inspired by Maui’s sugarcane plantation era. Located at The Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea, Kō features island family recipes and includes farm-fresh Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese menu items with a contemporary twist.
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

For starters, the rice cakes and edamamus dip is one of the best parts of the experience. A light and tasteful snack, the dip is something that you will crave when you are not dining with Ko. The entres are fantastic including the chicken stirfry. The service is great and the staff is friendly and is well runned.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuckles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We're so happy you had a wonderful experience. Yes - our "Bread Bridge," with assorted breads and dips, is truly an experience in itself. Please email us at directly at ko.kealani@fairmont.com for the edamamus dip recipe. It's easy to make at home! Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be passed onto the team. Best wishes and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    221
    121
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent fish but service not at the top”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We have been 2 times at Ko. The first time everything was fine and we had excellent fish. The second time we decided for the 3 course menu including wines. The service did not at all manage the correct timings in order to serve the choosen wines with the meals. In this price class (100 $ for this menu) this should not happen. Good meals but quite overexpensive for a mediocre service.

Helpful?
Thank Krescht
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian fusion cuisine.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a new addition to the Fairmont, replacing their old Italian restaurant café ciao.

It is definitely an upgrade. The food combinations here are very interesting and tasty. We have to come back so that we can try some different things on the menu. Everything we did have was wonderful.

The service was also very good. It was friendly prompt and attentive. They knew when we needed something and they knew when to leave us alone. The staff here is very well trained. We also noticed that they borrowed a senior staff member from the waterfront restaurant, which has always had excellent service.

The view is nothing really special here. You can get a glimpse of the ocean in the far distance but mostly are looking at the Fairmonts pool or garden grounds.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickiMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for your wonderful review of Kō. We’re delighted that you were impressed with the high level of service you received and that the cuisine exceeded your expectations. We’ll be sure to pass on your kind words along to Andrew, who is a tremendous asset to our team. Mahalo and we look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We came for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the menu. While they don't offer a gluten-free menu, they had gluten-free pizza
(excellent) and a number of salads that could be adapted easily. The seating area was spacious and airy, with a nice view of the pool. Customer service was friendly, efficient and not intrusive; we never had to ask for anything.

I would have liked to return for dinner and certainly will come back next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Windy327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We ate at Ko's on our last night in Maui and it was so good. Service was excellent without being too hovering (thanks Luiz !) Made good rec's. Sushi appetizer was A+. We all had fresh fish but prepared three different ways. We shared & all were fabulous. My favorite was steamed with a light ginger broth & veggies. A great meal & atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mister_T57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ko Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ko Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing