We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Ko Restaurant

Ko Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ko Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kaukahi Street
Transit: The nearest Bus stop is located at the Shops of Wailea Maui.
Description: Executive Chef Tylun Pang leads the culinary masterpiece of Kō, the only fine dining restaurant on Maui to offer cuisine inspired by Maui’s sugarcane plantation era. Located at The Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea, Kō features island family recipes and includes farm-fresh Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese menu items with a contemporary twist.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beatiful food and intimate setting. Must go one evening especially if you are staying on the resort.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mehtkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    225
    125
    32
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Solid Choice for dinner”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went to celebrate a birthday with a small party of three. We were seated immediately although there was a reservation mix up on our end. First they were going to give us a table in the inside of the restaurant so we requested a more quiet area facing the outdoors. They were kind and accommodating and gave us a large booth right in front of the entertainment which we enjoyed. We ordered a nice bottle of wine and appetizers which came out promptly. All the servers were extremely attentive (they even gave us a print out of one of their recipes for ko-choo-jang sauce). We recommend the Ahi on the Rock (where you sear it), and the pineapple plantation cake (which is light and sweet). The service was so good, that they actually gave us a sample of desserts for the birthday celebration. It was very nice and totally unexpected. Well done Ko.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westcoastjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
“You better Ko...”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great Maui locale and ambience, followed by even better cuisine. The staff is attentive and inviting. The Managers actually stop by to check on your experience every visit. The bartenders are spot on with their recommendations and will always steer you in the right direction, whether it is an appetizer or a glass of red. Standouts from my last visit were Dillon, Corky, Jim and Noel. Other standouts are the lobster tempura, the rock seared ahi, and the fabulous bread presentation. Don't forget to ask about the Sunday dinner special.

A much welcome addition to the South Maui restaurant scene, and top of the list when I'm thinking of lunch, dinner, or the aforementioned glass of red. Well done guys.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golfcartcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Ko Restaurant Twilight Dinner was simply Divine for our Daughter's Wedding Dinner.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

After a sunset beach wedding, the Twilight Dinner topped off such a memorable occasion with the attentive, accommodating staff of Ko. Our party of 6 had allergy and vegan requirements, which the staff handled perfectly. The dinners were superb. The quality and quantity of food was by far, better than the neighboring Nicks Fishmarket (where we all dined at the night before). The presentation of every dish was artfully crafted. The Twilight Dinner was the perfect end to a perfect wedding day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Aloha and thank you for celebrating at Kō! The poolside Twilight Dinner is a special experience and we are thrilled to hear it was such a memorable evening for you and your party. Your positive comments regarding the excellent service and cuisine will be shared with the entire Kō team. We send our best wishes and warmest aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Seated at 7:30. Not drink (including water) until 8 and app didn't arrive until 8:26. Food was marginal at best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrudyPeterson, Guest Relations Manager at Ko Restaurant, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We cannot apologize enough for your recent experience at Ko. Please be assured that our staff is held to a very high level of standards and the lack of service you received is unacceptable. We hope you will return and give us the opportunity to provide an exceptional dining experience. Best wishes and aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ko Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing