We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Fun Experience!”

Hawaiian Sailing Canoe Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Hawaiian Outrigger Canoe and Snorkel Adventure
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Hawaiian Sailing Canoe Adventure
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Very Fun Experience!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our sailing canoe and snorkeling trip around Wailea. It was neat to learn more about the Hawaiian sailing canoes and how they were used. Sage was a great guide and took pictures throughout the trip, which was nice because we didn't have a waterproof camera that we could take with us. Highly recommend booking a trip with Sage when in Maui!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank VaHiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great time on the ocean!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had a nice time sailing around the Wailea area of Maui. It was fun to get out on the open ocean and see how ancient Hawaiians sailed around the islands. The sea was choppy the day we went and the snorkeling was a little cloudy, but we had a great time anyway.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ATLCTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Calm & Relaxing - Don't Miss it”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just completed a trip with Maui Sailing Canoe. This is our second time to sail with them, the last about 3 years ago. Each time has been a wonderful experience. You have the opportunity to snorkel or just sit back and relax as the sailing canoe takes your small group on a trip. Well worth the price. Depending on the time of year you might even see whales, dolphins, or a monk seal which we say basking in the sun.

This is an eco friendly tour that only takes up to 6 people at a time. No motor noise or the smell of exhaust, just clear sailing. Great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasRazorbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sailing and Octopus!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This adventure was a highlight of our trip. We loved stepping on the canoe right from the beach and sailing out on a beautiful day. Sage made the experience especially memorable by snorkeling with us and pointing out things we wouldn't otherwise have seen. He even found an octopus that he brought up from the sea floor for me to hold. I have a fabulous underwater shot (taken by Sage) of me holding an octopus.

Both Sage and Elan were gracious, entertaining and knowledgeable about Hawaii. They shared a lot with us and gave us one of our favorite adventures from our trip.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our favorite activities on Maui”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was our second time on the sailing canoe trip. We saw whales (one about 30 feet away) and had fun snorkeling. Sage is a very pleasant and knowledgable guide. I'd recommend this for everyone, particular for those who want a non-motorized experience on the water without the need to paddle a kayak. The sailing canoe is also a more stable platform for snorkeling than a kayak.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jn92075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Sailing Canoe Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Hawaiian Sailing Canoe Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing