We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Maui.”
Review of Mala - CLOSED

Mala
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Kihei Islander bus line stops in front of the Shops at Wailea, just in front of the Marriott. Mala Restaurant is located on the ocean front of the Marriott, Wailea. Just walk through the main lobby and you'll see our lounge, with the restaurant ramp to your left.
Description: Chef Mark Ellman of Avalon fame and Chef/Owner of Maui Tacos, who also owns the orginal Mala Ocean Tavern in Lahaina, has joined forces with his long time partner Shep Gordon and opened a Southside outpost of Mala. Aptly called Mala Wailea at the Wailea Beach Marriott Resort and Spa Overlooking the Pacific Ocean and the Island of Lanai. Our delightful restaurant offers stunning sunset vistas over the Pacific – every seat has an ocean view. Mark is pleased to continue the Mala tradition of making great food organic, healthy, fresh, and delicious. With an authentic menu of Mediterranean and Pacific Rim cuisine, our beautifully crafted dishes will please the palates of your most revered guests.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Maui.”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Mala has fresh delicious food. There are so many terrific choices on the menu it is hard to choose. The wait staff was very helpful to us and we got our meals promptly. Ask for a table looking out at the ocean!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurensd1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    129
    90
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paia, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second TIme's a Charm”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We live on Maui and LOVE Mala's Lahaina location, but had previously been disappointed by the service at the Wailea location. This weekend's visit changed all that! We went for dinner at 6:15 on a Saturday. The service was exceptional - fast and friendly, and the food was great. We really appreciated our lovely server's attention to our kids - happy kids = happy parents! We sampled several yummy martinis as well as various appetizers and the super delish short ribs. It's pricey, but not unusual for the area. I was thrilled to get to meet the Chef - who has appeared on Top Chef and is a local celebrity. Our server really made our night special, and we will definitely be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rkfd, IL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We loved the views and enjoyed our meal. Fish is their specialty. Our friends commented that their fish was the best they had ever had! They complimented the chef on presentation and taste.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sdr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“VERY Disappointed”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Just finished a meal in the lounge. New chef and changes to Facilities Happy hour not like last year. Drinks smaller portions, prices high. Full price for a meal in the lounge, no happy hour pricing. Also ate in resturant last week and pizza was burned. Staff did not seem happy in the lounge.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fort p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Impressed! Over Priced!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Dinner review only! Breakfast staff and buffet are awesome! We stayed at the Marriott Wailea and decided to try Mala for dinner. We were disappointed! The mixed drinks are smoothies at best lacking alcohol. Asked waitress if they forgot alcohol and was asked to order a double next time. It is over priced and the waitresses are MIA when you complain. The views from the restaurant are beautiful at sunset.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank balvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mala also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing