We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $200
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kalai Waa
Description: Hawaii's first and only Relais & Chateaux restaurant, The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea (formerly known as Capische?) offers a European-inspired elegance infused with creative island-to-table cuisine. Menus are created around what is readily available from Maui’s own farms and fisherman ensuring that each dish is prepared using only the finest local, seasonal and artisanal products; including those grown in the restaurant’s own garden and farming operation. From its perch on the hillside above South Maui's Wailea resort area, the restaurant offers sweeping panoramic ocean views from the upper lanai and intimate dining under the stars in the garden.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

One of the best meals that my wife and I have had, the staff was friendly and knowledgeable about our menu choices. This restaurant is highly recommended and a table on the lanai is perfect for a romantic evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julianne96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Aloha Julianne96, Thank you very much for your review and kind words. We appreciate your feedback and are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us! Please join us if you are in Wailea again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    124
    91
    35
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best dessert ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I tried to locate the name of the dessert online, but I can't find it. It was unreal - a chocolate, salted caramel thing. I took a picture of it. It's worth the 10 hour flight from NY just to have that dessert!

The rest of the meal was excellent too. I had a mushroom risotto. Drinks were great. The service was superb. The view is spectacular. This was one of my favorite dinners of our trip. I saw that some people mentioned small portions and that is true, but I prefer smaller portions.

We went for sunset, probably a little too early at this time of year. We got there when they opened, probably should have made the reservation for a little bit later. We left before the sun had fully set. However, the waiter told us that in the winter they would have filled up earlier.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Mahalo bcaha for your great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your dessert and mushroom risotto. We are sorry you didn't get to see a true sunset - they are spectacular here! If you are ever in Wailea again, please come in and enjoy another great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Restaurants in resorts could get away with anything since most of their guests were transient tourists. Not any more when we can get ideas from tripadvisor and other sites.
Our meal was perfect: kale salad, quail, risotto, seared tuna. The service very attentive to our needs, the view spectacular, the speaker music pleasant. Not too rushed, not slow just at our pace. The mix of traditional and new flavours surprising and welcome.
Yes, we are tourists and we liked so much we want to come back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spiral0112358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Aloha Spiral0112358! Mahalo for your very kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope you are able to come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Another Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We dined at Capische 2 years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. Debated about a return visit since we were worried about some negative reviews here. Have to say, our decision to give it another try was the right one !! The service, the food, the ambiance.....nothing at all about our evening was a let down. From Mindy the hostess to Kelly, our waitress in the lanai, to Aaron and Dustin our wait staff in the garden.....and Dante, the newly arrived manager, we were so well looked after. The timing between courses was perfect. The Risotto was THE best and the Lillikoi Tart for dessert was one of the best treats we have ever tasted. Recommend highly for that special occasion....well worth the $. One of those experiences that will have you saying "remember when we went to Capishe?"

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Aloha, Nancy! Mahalo for all of your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us – and that you came in again for your second visit. If you are ever in Wailea again, we hope you come in for another great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing Gem Away From Oceanfront Chaos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

As other reviewers have stated, the wine list is decent, but it is terribly overpriced. Napa Sauv Blanc was 4x retail. I am accepting of 2x or 3x on occasion, but 4x? Hmm.

I found the setting amazingly relaxing and beautiful. Away from the crowds and noise, this restaurant sits atop a hill. The decor is also interesting and quite open without being pretentious.

The food was as expected. Very well done.

Service was exceptional.

I would recommend this to a foodie friend and I will return. Fix the wine list guys - it is obviously a problem.

Helpful?
Thank Leonardoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing