We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING FOOD, EVEN MORE AMAZING STAFF!!”

The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $200
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kalai Waa
Description: Hawaii's first and only Relais & Chateaux restaurant, The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea (formerly known as Capische?) offers a European-inspired elegance infused with creative island-to-table cuisine. Menus are created around what is readily available from Maui’s own farms and fisherman ensuring that each dish is prepared using only the finest local, seasonal and artisanal products; including those grown in the restaurant’s own garden and farming operation. From its perch on the hillside above South Maui's Wailea resort area, the restaurant offers sweeping panoramic ocean views from the upper lanai and intimate dining under the stars in the garden.
stl
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD, EVEN MORE AMAZING STAFF!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I ate at this restaurant twice during my 9 night stay in Wailea. The restaurant has the most beautiful views of the sunset, so schedule your dinner around that time. The first time I had the 3 course tasting menu. Our waiter, Alex, was the best waiter we have ever had (and we do a lot of dining)! He helped me choose lactose free options from the menu, and explained all the entrees without having to think twice about it! He kept our wine glasses full, food consistently coming out, and smiles on our face!

The second night we ate here, we ordered appetizers, and Kelly was our waitress. She actually recognized us from a resort we had been at earlier in our stay, and more importantly, remembered our drink orders :). We also saw Alex again and he remembered us from our earlier dining experience!

Now for the food. The first night we did the 3 course tasting menu. The bolognase and rib eye were absolutely awesome! The salad was good as well, with fresh vegetables picked in the garden at the hotel. The second night we had the cheese platter which was very good. We also had mushroom risotto, which was quite possibly the best food I have ever eaten!

If you're splurging to go to Hawaii, do it right, and eat at Capische! Great food, great people, and great views!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jn1234stl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Owner at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is a pleasure to hear when we are doing something well and I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    128
    91
    37
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
1 review
“Five Stars”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Excellent restaurant with a stunning view and amazing food!!!

Came here with family from California and now it's a MUST when we return to Maul!

The Hanger Steak paired with La Jota Cabernet is incredible!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CodyHartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Owner at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much! Looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Romantic garden seating”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This restaurant surprised and delighted us. We had a very private table in the garden. We arrived after dark (8 p.m.) so there wasn’t much to see, but I imagine the view is fantastic at sunset. We were offered a tasting menu, which may not always be available, since it was a special gourmet week in Maui, early November. As a result the meal took quite a while, with long breaks between courses, and we were among the last to leave. It was a pleasant place to spend the evening, and all the food was very good, although not as Italian as I would have expected.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Owner at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent romantic meal!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I LOVED our meal here. We had a garden table, it was windy but with a light jacket we were comfortable. The lighting was dim but the waiter had mini flashlights available and we really liked the romantic atmosphere. It was such a nice change from a typical dining room. The food was delicious.

Definitely get the three course pre-fixe. Worth the money and gets you a little of everything!!!! The risotto, pumpkin gnocchi, quail, ahi, and steak were all amazing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Owner at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We really appreciate your great words. We are very happy to hear you and your husband had a nice evening with us. Looking forward to see you both again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow service, Terrible...”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My partner and I stay at the Fairmont every year for the holidays and love dining out in Wailea. I ate here last year and loved it. Very different this time, I dined recently and its gone way way down hill. The menu prices have increased and the portions are smaller...and the food was mediocre. Risotto too salty, and dry overcooked fish. Service was very slow as well. The middle aged waiter with a buzz-cut was very inexperienced, he must have been new. I won't come back, and you shouldn't either.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scott j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Mahalo for returning to Capische during your recent stay on Maui. We have in fact made adjustments to our menu to better reflect a more Italian character and format. We offer smaller portions so you can enjoy more courses. Certainly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the menu items you selected. Our goal is for every guest to love their experience at Capische and we hope to get an opportunity to win you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing