We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”

The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $200
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kalai Waa
Description: Hawaii's first and only Relais & Chateaux restaurant, The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea offers a European-inspired elegance infused with creative island-to-table cuisine. Menus are created around what is readily available from Maui’s own farms and fisherman ensuring that each dish is prepared using only the finest local, seasonal and artisanal products; including those grown in the restaurant’s own garden and farming operation. From its perch on the hillside above South Maui's Wailea resort area, the restaurant offers sweeping panoramic ocean views from the upper lanai and intimate dining under the stars in the garden.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a great meal here. It is pretty pricey, but worth it. The mushroom truffle risotto was the highlight.

Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Owner at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you! I’ll pass your great words along to our chefs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 454 of 775 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us as a new one we couldn't miss during our week-long stay on Maui. We ran late with touring during the day so we didn't arrive until after dark so I'm thinking our experience would have been better had we been able to see the view. We sat on the perimeter of a balcony area and couldn't see anything.
Our waiter greeted us and was a little too personal, asking all about our day and tours, and where we were from. We were just looking for a nice quiet dinner. There were four of us (2 couples). Our friends are real 'foodies' who enjoy the best food and wines.
While I thought the meal was good (I had spaghetti); no one else in our party thought their meals were anything to 'write home about'. Our party ordered the veal, fresh fish of the day, and lamb, along with appetizers and a nice bottle of wine. We felt the appetizers were presented nicely but were overpriced, and the entrees were just ok. We split the tab in half and our two meals was $175 before tip. With all of the other restaurants we visited that week, I don't think I'd return here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank WorkingTooHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Mahalo for sharing these comments. We are proud of our friendly, attentive service staff but regret your experience was not as expected. Also, our culinary team is passionate about the food they create so we also regret that you did not find all your menu selections to be exceptional. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to prove our quality, creativity, and outstanding service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We tried one after another top rated restaurants while in Maui, and finally decided that since the island only has about 150,000 full time residents, the restaurants were good for a smaller town and probably graded on a curve... until we ate at Capische. This is tucked away and not on the beach or in one of the larger resorts. The food, however, was amazing, and the service very friendly. My wife had the grass fed local filet, and it was amazing! If you want a table with a view - call in advance!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlie_Hotlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Owner at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your great words. We greatly appreciate your business as well as the feedback. We will be posting your comments for our staff to view. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Pastas are excellent- highly recommend the squash gnocchi and mushroom risotto.
Recommend arriving around 5 pm and enjoy both the sunset and their happy hr that lasts until 6 pm

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BMIhonestfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Owner at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you, we appreciate your kind words and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Liked nothing. Overpriced meals, over cooked 2.5 inch piece of fish drowning in some kind of vinegar purée!

2  Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capische, Manager at The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Mahalo for dining with us and sharing these comments. Obviously we are disappointed that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Our menu is designed to provide a traditional Italian multi-course meal while featuring creative interpretations of Italian classics.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing