We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent high end Italian, but more image than substance”

The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 51 Restaurants in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $200
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Kalai Waa
Description: Hawaii's first and only Relais & Chateaux restaurant, The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea (formerly known as Capische?) offers a European-inspired elegance infused with creative island-to-table cuisine. Menus are created around what is readily available from Maui’s own farms and fisherman ensuring that each dish is prepared using only the finest local, seasonal and artisanal products; including those grown in the restaurant’s own garden and farming operation. From its perch on the hillside above South Maui's Wailea resort area, the restaurant offers sweeping panoramic ocean views from the upper lanai and intimate dining under the stars in the garden.
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent high end Italian, but more image than substance”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had dinner at Capische with my wife while staying in Wailea. While the food tasted fantastic and the waitstaff was friendly, the portion sizes were a joke; a giant plate with your tiny entree in the center. For the price we paid we were frustrated that we left hungry. Unfortunately, I don't think we will be coming back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    129
    91
    37
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarzana, CA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Romantic dinnert”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful ambience, great food. It was my husband's birthday and they seated us ion a special area in the garden. Terrific evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golfandbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Most Romantic Setting”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful restaurant! Their garden seating is among the most romantic I've ever seen and we've traveled the world. We sat on the terrace which overlooks the garden setting and has amazing sunset/ocean views. This ocean view is mostly blocked from the garden seating but the garden has its own unique private table seatings and is absolutely perfect, especially for young or newlywed couples. Pricing is a bit high but then it's always high on the islands. Both food and service were memorable also.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dawna70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Loved the atmosphere and romantic setting”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We did the 3 course selection and were just stuffed. The waiter was attentive. The live music was wonderful. This was probably the most romantic setting for dinner we had on the island. High end.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patticakesTemple_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you're looking for a great place for a romantic dinner, this would be an excellent choice. There are a couple of choices for seating. The upper terrace has good sunset views and the lower patio has very nice tables with good spacing so you don't feel crowded.

The food was excellent. I suggest you go with the fixed price offering. The Cioppino was particularly good.

I have heard that the service here can be spotty, but ours was excellent. Attentive without feeling rushed.

The only word of warning is that this is a bit pricey even by Maui standards, but if you're celebrating that special occasion, don't hesitate to reserve a table here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing