We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Painful Beach Chair Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Painful Beach Chair Service”
Reviewed July 10, 2010

My family and I are just completing a one week stay at Ho'olei at Grand Wailea. The hotel and The Grand Wailea Resort are some how affiliated so we spend each day at The Grand Wailea. We have been here before and think the Grand Wailea is a great place for kids. The service is very good with one major exception. Every morning I head down to the beach for chairs and umbrellas. The stand opens at 7am. The resort is pretty busy so you need to get down there by 9 to get a seat. This is to be expected during busy season. I get there at 7 to 730 every morning and stand in line waiting from 40 min to 1 hour because they do not have enough attendants. Everyone on line complains but the situation never improves. If they just added two more people they would make the start of our day much better. I hope they are listening.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank gerryny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,258
    1,398
    675
    375
    233
See reviews for
2,332
2,097
68
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Five star facility, service, room, location (for what we wanted)
Expensive as all get out - and that's before tipping!

Facility: Every bit as beautiful as the website! The property is huge - it took about 10 minutes to get to our room at the end of the furthest building, but it was worth it. Ornate with attentive staff everywhere.

Room: Roomy and comfortable. We had a 4th floor room with a balcony overlooking the water park. It was quiet and we were well cared for by the staff. Nothing escaped their attention.

Dining on site is pricey (scone/coffee/fruit for 2 at the Cafe Kula coffee shop = $28 while dinner at Humu restaurant = $125). It's a less at the mall just a short walk away.

Activities: Beach, pool, and water park - all were fun. There is an adult pool by the bar and a number of family pools around an outdoor dining area. Beach cabanas are avail for $300/day, covered chairs along the beach are $75 (3rd party vendor), while umbrella/umbrella set up on the beach is free.

Spa and 2 level fitness center are top notch. In the back of the hotel there is a running trail paralleling the beach. It crosses several other hotels and goes into residential areas. Be aware it is narrow and gets very crowded by 7am.

Maui isn't our favorite island, but this hotel made the trip one of the most relaxing ones I've been on.

Advice:
If there is anything you think you've forgotten, there is a Wal-Mart and Costco five minutes from the airport. Wailea is another 30 minutes away. Once you get there (Wailea) you may not want to leave :) This is your first opportunity to stock up on alcohol cheaply.

Invest in a small, collapsible cooler. You can fill it with ice, snacks, and drinks for day outings. I got a lunch pail size one for $5 and even brought it back home when done.

Kihei: Everything is downright affordable and fun if you get out onto Kihei Road (5 minute drive) and discover unique restaurants in Kihei (the chief valet gave us great recommendations). We found it best to hit the grocery store in Kihei for fresh fruit and baked goods for breakfast as well as snacks/drinks for afternoons or beach or outings. The same goes for alchohol, sunscreen, swim gear etc. The beaches are so-so.

Molokini: This beautiful crater rim island was mentioned on Travel Channel and was on my bucket list to snorkel, but I was disappointed. The tour started at 8am, it took an hour to get there and there were a lot of other boats there were equally as many people. I saw only 2-3 different types of fish despite cool, clear water. Don't waste your money. Find a good nearby reef (like Turtle Town just south of the hotel) and hang out there.

Parking: Valet is $20/day. Free parking but fills up early in the morning. Although it took us a long walk to get to our room (near the Humu restaurant), our room was steps away fr the free parking area so it made getting to/from our car very convenient.

Surprise: We got a modest daily resort fee, but it covered parking, towels, and internet access. Unlike Oahu where those are separate charges.

Bonus: There were a few hollywood actors we recognized roaming the premises.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotdumale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

The pools and slides are AWESOME for families with children! Plus the beachfront location is fantastic. The property is meticulously manicured and kept true to the local island flavor. However, the prices at the restaurants and room rates are insane...$6 for a half of a papaya...$5 for a bagel. The rooms are a bit dated and have a few rough edges in terms of maintenance. And the self-parking is absurd...almost impossible to park anything larger than a compact car.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Sorry this review is a long time coming - i was supposed to write it as soon as I got back from my honeymoon but almost a year later, here I am! So some details are sketchy in my mind, but I do remember that it was a beautifulllll hotel!!!! THe room was huge - we had only booked a mountainview but perhaps because it was our honeymoon or because we were Hilton Honours members, they gave us a wonderful ocean view - we could see the gardens and pool and the ocean!

The toiletries were lovely and the bath was nice and big! one day, housekeeping had decorated the room with petals and made swans out of the towels in the bathroom - noses touching in a heart shape! it was lovely!

We also got $20 off the restaurant near the main pool - i forget what it was called. and i cant rmemeber what we ate but it was a nice setting by the ocean.

The main pool was pretty noisy and there were a lot of kids but it just meant we spent most of our time by the adults pool which was also wonderful.

We got a couple massage day at the Spa - it was very expensive but very nice!

We got room service breakfast one day which was also nice.

We didnt venture down to the beach apart from when we walked to the four seasons for dinner.

Overall wonderful hotel, romantic and beautiful - we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londongirl789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My wife and I spent our wedding night at the Grand (we had rented a home in Maui for the week). We enjoyed a fantastic dinner and sunset at Humuhumu, and had an overall wonderful experience there. My only knock on the property (and bear in mind, we only spent one night there) was that the rooms felt dated to us. I would certainly consider returning to the Grand for future vacations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chudacris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This was the first time my wife and I had been to Maui. We took our 22 year old daughter with us. We loved the grounds and the pools and the water slides. Lots of kids so if you want to avoid them stick to the adult pool. It was conveniently located in a not so busy part of Maui near the shops at Wailea and a very nice beach. The beach path was a great morning stroll (for us) and a jog for our daughter. We had the Sunday brunch on Father's Day which was awesome ( not cheap though!). The restaurants and lounges were very nice, we especially liked the lobby bar, although I wish the bar/restaurant nearest the adult pool had later hours. We had a great dinner at the Humuhumunukunukuapua restaurant ( say that three times real fast !) aka The Humu with a nice view of the ocean. With the Four Seasons next door and some nice restaurants at The Shops at Wailea within walking distance you also have some other dining options if you choose.
Our room was spacious and clean with a nice sized balcony which overlooked the lower part of the resort and the ocean. We did get a visit from a baby lizard (a gecko I assume, even though he didn't try to sell me insurance) which I think snuck in when housekeeping dropped something off. It was kind of funny because when I opened the door after catching the little darling in a glass, the mommy was waiting outside for junior to return! They do charge you $25 if you want a fridge for the stay.
As with most resorts we've stayed at, you have the pool chair circus with people lining up before 7 AM to snag their spots. If you don't have kids, the adult pool always seemed to have plenty of open chairs.
We rented a car and the self parking garage is a bit small and spaces were at a premium even though the resort did not seem to be very crowded. If you have a handicap sticker you'll find plenty of spaces though!
My wife and daughter both had spa treatments, which they loved, and the workout room is well equipped with plenty of treadmill type machines, weight machines and free weights.
If you visit their web site and view their pictures, it is every bit a beautiful as it looks.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drozman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

All the slides and pool activities were excellent! That is, except for the water elevator. I don't see why it's there and who would use it when there are slides and swings galore. The hotel makes the elevator into a huge deal when it's actually not exciting at all and is incredibly disappointing especially after the 15 minute wait. Although when we visited we hardly had trouble with crowds, it was still IMPOSSIBLE to get FOOD by the pool. Plus, everything is expensive and they do charge for every little thing. Lastly, keep in mind that you are not paying for the room. The Grand Wailea is basically an amazing pool complex with motel rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank badromance13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing