We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal for Diamond Hilton members” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great deal for Diamond Hilton members”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

Even though this was not a Hilton property, they are somehow related in ownership. We used points to pay for the room and because they could not offer us the concierge level, they gave us a triple upgrade to an amazing room with great ocean views and some coupons for their restauants. But double check your bill because they had to remove the upgrade charges twice. This a classy resort which greets you with an orchid lei as you arrive.
This is a huge resort and it is quite a hike through the shops to the free self-parking garage from our room. We ate at the HumaHuma and the restaurant overlooking the pool. The food was excellent. There is a $5.99 breakfast at the Hamburger Paradise restaurant in the nearby Shops of Wailea. (walking distance) We were a bit annoyed that they do not want you to use the room refrigerator (stocked with their super expensive stuff) so we purchased a cooler at the General store in the Wailea Shops. There is also a Safeway less than 10 minutes away off the main highway and Pi'Ikea Rd. where you can stock up on snacks.
We sat out at the adult pool early in the day so chairs were easy to find. You may want to save your towel to put out early the next day to reserve your spot. No shade anywhere- they want you to rent a cabana. There are free umbrellas and chairs for the beach in front of the resort just for asking if it is not too windy. Actually the way the hotel is built surrounding the pools make it great for poolsitting even on windy Tradewind days.
The grounds of this hotel are spectacular, but large. Be sure to walk along the 2 mile public ocean walkway on the ocean side of all the resorts.
This is definitely a great hotel for kids with all of the pools with connecting slides. The adult pool is very quiet though. If you want a quieter experience go to the Wailea Marriot just up the road. WE spent several days there also (check that review). This is a great location for all of the Maui sightseeing. We were happy with our small suv because of the small parking places. It was also easy to maueuver the Road to Hana in a smaller car.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeggyPMequon_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,198
    1,374
    671
    369
    231
See reviews for
2,284
2,068
68
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

Just had the most wonderful 13 days relaxing at the GW- by the end of our vacation my 14 year old daughter was already planning our return trip for Christmas. What do you dream of when you go to a tropical island? Beautiful white sand beach with great beach activities? Warm tropical breezes and sunny skies? Great, friendly staff ready to satisfy your every request? So many pools to explore with slides and caves- and a swim up bar with Richie shaking up frosty cocktails? Incredible grounds with amazing tropical flowers, beautiful artwork around every corner- fabulous food in a thatched hut restaurant where you are suspended over a tropical aquarium- oh and the spa- heavenly! Does it all sound over the top? Maybe- but the GW is one of the most incredible hotels I have ever experienced. We were treated like queens- upgraded to a beautiful ocean view room in the Chapel Wing, had champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries from the hotel delivered to the room for my birthday. The only bummer was the guy in the next room who took a 5am conference call on the speaker phone for three days in a row- but one small blemish in paradise I can overlook. We will be back...as many times as we can!! Highly recommend taking a day trip to Piiholo Ranch for the Zipline- amazing, breathtaking, soooo fun!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellowmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

Beautifully laid out out rooms with the sounds of waterfalls, birds and the scent of
flowers. A great service staff. Fabulous beach and nice saltwater pools.

Definitely, on my list of regular places to visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

The Grand Wailea is the perfect hotel-resort. The rooms were great with wonderful views of the ocean and it is in the perfect location in Wailea, Maui. The beach is wonderful and the resort is great. At Christmas, it's busiest time of the year there are lots of families so the resort (pool, slides etc) is overrun with children everywhere. The spa was great and well priced. Our only issues were that the breakfast in the large dinning area was terrible (and expensive) we won't be doing that again. In addition, the prices at all of the restaurants like the one at the pool are outrageous. Overall we had a great stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie_at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

Just got back from a wonderful trip to the Grand Wailea. The check in staff were all so friendly and helpful. We had a ocean view room on the 9th floor. We could watch the whales from our room. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and decorated beautifully. We love the bath products (lotions, shampoo, etc.) Smell so good. The food was good, service was excellent. If you have children, I feel there is no other place to go. The pools and water slides are so much fun. We did walk over to the shops that are next to the resort to buy water and snacks (saves so much money). We had a spa day and it was incredible. Currently, they are running a special that includes the brunch. It was well worth it! If you don't get the special, make sure to eat brunch in the Grand Dining Room at least once. We really enjoyed our time at this resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

The room was very big with huge bathroom. Views to the beach. Fantastic gardens with pools, waterfords..The Spa is amazing (at the beginning, I didnt want to spend some of my time in Hawaii in a Spa, but I am so glad I did it just for 2 hours). Employees are very friendly and the service is excellent. A bit tired about listening Äloha!!¨ by hotels employees everytime I took the lift, thought!
The beach is lovely, and just down the resort.
In my opinion, if you are spending more than 4 days there, rent a car. If you like activities and explore, you cant do it walking from there. I have to add that the resort offers free mountain bikes! so we took them to explore the island.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laislaesmeralda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed three nights a few weeks before the crowds expected for Spring Break. Resort is beautiful, well manicured and maintained. Our desire was for the pools and beach, which were fantastic and fully met our expectations. Lazy river, slides, pools, rope swing...clean sand beach sheltered from rough surf, lots of grassy areas and lots of landscaping, walking paths, waterfalls, koi ponds, etc. Has it all. If you want a clean, upscale area and resort, this is it. The food/restaurant selection was OK, but not great. They need a Hula Grill..!! Of course everything is expensive...but that's how you maintain an upscale clean and beautiful resort. We expected it. We were able to find shade at the pool with free umbrellas (family pool, not adult pool) - IF YOU GET UP EARLY and stake out your spot. Negatives: Drinks and food are 20% more expensive than they should be. Some of the staff were not friendly or helpful (we had significantly better staff service at the Kaanapali Westin which we visited next). Room service failed to pick up dishes outside door for 2 days and multiple phone calls, and when we finished the coffee and creamer every morning in the room, we had to call room service for fresh creamer replacement the next day (you would think that would be a no-brainer). BTW...the guy who delivered it was none too happy. So for what it is, we had a GREAT time and would cerainly visit again. However for full Waldorf-Astoria expectations, some of the finer details were not consistenly present. Bottom line: It's a beautiful place that you can't help fully enjoying if you look past some of the minor things. Hopefully the resort management reads these threads. They are not far off the mark.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
29.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
23.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Green Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsforEveryone, Prestigia, Agoda, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing