We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Big Beach Front Hotel--could be more personable and accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
“Another Big Beach Front Hotel--could be more personable and accommodating”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Big, Beautiful and great food! Staff needs to be more hospitable and accommodating. They made me feel like a number and didn't care that this was my "once in a lifetime attempt at fabulous luxury on the beach". They refuse to seat us at one of many empty tables because we didn't have reservations. All staff seemed like they couldn't be bothered with any "extra accommodations". "this is just the way it is" I was told.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,334
    1,413
    682
    378
    236
See reviews for
2,365
2,142
68
615
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I travel for a living and I can honestly say that I have NEVER stayed in such a nice hotel. This complex is huge! Rooms are large and airy, the balconies the correct size. Very impressive property. Requested an upgrade for our anniversary and wow did they upgrade. Great hotel for couples or family's.

Room Tip: Ask for higher up room, lower floors are closer to ocean, but view is not as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Having been here many years ago, I wasn't sure what to expect as the last visit was impressive .
My girlfriend and I were welcomed with open arms, smiles and leis. The grounds are very well kept, very pleasing to the eye , nose and hearing. Waterfalls, art, and a majestic ora.
We were given room 21 easily walkable to all areas, and bottom level outdoor balcony, at pond level, ocean view looking toward wedding chapel. Spent many mornings and evenings just enjoying the views. I feel we were very lucky to have this room.
Rooms are very big, with marble huge bathrooms, oversized soaking tub, standup glass shower, separate room with closing door with toilet , bathrobes,hair dryer etc.
Our room had a big closet with safe, iron and board, and plenty of space.
The room has a flat screen TV, two phones, but I telnet access was on and off.
A must is the spa. We did the couples massage, outdoors in private area in cabana . Arrive early to get the use of the body exfoliation , use of steam room, various salt pools, water falls and more. Total for the couples massage with tip was around $700. Well worth the 3 hour total usage and (2) 1 hour couples massage.
Massive pool areas, some adult only . We chose to enjoy ocean views all day on beach as sitting at a pool when there is a Hawaiian beach within 100 feet was more to our liking. I suggest getting to beach no later than 9:30 to meet a beach attendant to set up free umbrellas and chairs. There was no waiter service, but we brought a small cooler of beverages for the day.
At night the grounds morph into an oasis. You can enjoy many restaurants but we ate off of resort mostly.
One night we had the hotel driver drive us to Mama's Fish House in the resorts Lincoln Navigator. it is about a 25 minute drive. Not sure on taxi rate( I think $70), but we tipped him $100 each way for private transportation. I suggest reservations there well in advance. I used Open Table.
There is a National Car Rental on premise. We rented a Mustang convertible for the day( about $130), and we travelled up country to vodka company, a must to see and walk the grounds, then we hit the winery, cheese farm, and had a burger across from the winery. Took the road that banks the ocean for miles, and had a roadside picnic.
One night we went to the Four Season to eat at DUO. There is a path from Grand Wailea to 4S and it takes 10 minutes. I had stayed at 4S about 7 years ago and liked it. The feeling at 4S is more adult, more dressy, versus Grand Wailea that has a more family and theme feel. Each has their forte'.. Depends on what you want.
All in all, service at GW was wonderful, a bit crowded, but beautiful. The beds and pillows are addicting:-)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brent a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Wailea, nice location! Alan Wongs Amasia is Amazing! The Front Desk is the absolute SLOWEST front desk I have ever encountered in all my travels around the world to the point of being down right insulting. There is NO organization or sence of urgency. Poor Management that should all be terminated as there is zero support or backup visible to the very lethargic staff who appear to be union and could care less about any guests or thier jobs...inexcusable! Staff your $30 daily valet with actual valets...why am I standing waiting and waiting? Bistro Molokini Lobster sandwich, where's the lobster? I'll tell you where it is...at Ferraro's, Four Seasons and Fairmont Kea Lani Pool Bar. Molikini Wing Elevators, forget about it! Packed with hotel workers, carts, laundry, garbage...good luck. Cafe Kula...Do something! How can Astoria NOT figure out how to make an all encompassing deli that everyone is dying to go to? Currently a rip off off junk foods. Stay at any other Wailea property, Grand Wailea is not so Grand...this is the 21st Century, time to catch up.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
4 Thank 576valeries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Grand Wailea had it all! We loved the environment, placement of facilities (close to Kihei), comfort of room, restaurants, spa, and pleasant employees. The spa was fairly priced and services were excellent. The restaurants were lovely and we had great service. It was amazing to have such a great pool/s and yet not be bothered by the activity because they were not "on top" of the rooms. We will definitely stay here in the future. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank 948kimberlye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Grand Wailea IS Grand. It's a BIG hotel and it's pool recreation area is a grand hit, mostly with the kids. Although the rooms need some renovations, they are large and comfortable. I LOVE the bathroom and deep tub. I rarely take baths at resorts but it was on 'the list' on my most recent visit to the Grand Wailea. I was not checking out without a bath, period! This hotel is not for anyone who does not want to be around children or who are looking for an intimate / quiet experience. There is lots to do such as walking the large beautifully landscaped grounds, putting a dent in your pocket book at one of the great resort stores, being pampered beyond the imagination at the Spa and Terme or unleashing your 'inner kid' at the pool and slide, and rope swing, etc. If you are a family, you will become your kid's hero, instantly, if you take them to this hotel. The beach is really nice in front of the resort but it's the pool & slide that get all the press and for good reason. Service & Food / Beverage are sometimes less than up to par for this quality of hotel. This trip both were really spot on.

Room Tip: A Deluxe Oceanview room is worth it (versus a regular Ocean room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was our 3rd trip to Muai. The other 2 times we stayed on the far west side at the Kaanapali reosrts area. I really liked the location of this hotel. It's at the end of the road, but much more centrally located. The hotel itself is fantastic, very clean. Great service. It is a big property and takes a day or 2 to figre out how to navigate all teh different levels. Nice beach. If you stay here, make sure and to the end of the road to Big Beach. If you're adventurous you can follow a small trail on the west end of the beach to Little Beach for some nude sunbathing. Sunday afternoon is party time there. i would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyHinMidlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#5 Green Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing