We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice, but quite crowded.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very nice, but quite crowded.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a very beautiful property.
Staff are awesome.

The only thing I did not really like is the pool areas... People are just packed one on top of each other.
My wife and I were by ourselves, so we went to the adult pool.
40% of the adult pool seating area is reserved for private (pay as you go) seating.
We inquired about 2 chairs that had a little sun shade on them.... $230 per day.
Was afraid to ask what the full gazebos cost.

So the remaining seats for regular guests (and off property members) is quite limited.. and they are all placed very tight.

The claim to have a rule to evacuate your belongings if your chair is unoccupied for 1 hour (awesome!!! first place I have ever seen with this), but it is rarely enforced, unless you complain.

We were able to purchase our own beverages offsite, and bring them to the pool in a little cooler with ice... did not bring glass... nobody seemed to care, which is good, because the drinks from the resort are very expensive.

We at all all of the restaurants, we are mainly meat & potatoes people, so with so much seafood, this left us little choice.... steak or chesseburgers.
Awesome New York Steak @ Alan Wongs... probaby one of the best I've ever had. Great wine list there too.

Breakfast buffet was overpriced for us ($31.50), we are not 3 full plate people.. so we just ordered off the menu after that.

Oh yes, I am a smoker.... if you are too, have fun... you are banished to about half a dozen little huts around the property, or you must go off property (to beach). Cannot even smoke on room balcony. However, I was a couple time surprised to see non-smokers taking a rest break in the the little smoking hut, once a young lady with an enfant in a stroller... my turn to give dirty looks... it did not work though.... oblivious.... so I stood nearby and smoked.

other: lots of kids at this resort.... main pools areas are designed for them, and they love it... lots of corporate groups too, so you will often encounter group events on the grounds, and large groups of co-workers all talking shop... not a bad thing... just be aware of it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,515
    1,467
    704
    393
    247
See reviews for
2,520
2,233
69
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Grand Wailea is very impressive and we enjoyed our 3-day/2-night visit on April 11-13. This is a beautiful resort at a great location. Everything about our experience was fantastic except our visits to the pool area, which made up most of our time during our visit. The area between the pool and beach was very dirty. Grassy areas had turned to mud as there was no grass left from overuse. There were dirty constructions cones on part of the pool deck for no particular reason. Garbage cans that were overflowing. The beach shower areas were filled with sand/mud. No staff available to clean up empty cups, containers, etc. throughout the day. Finally, the deck was overcrowded and almost impossible to get a pool chair unless you arrive at 7AM each morning. Given the quality and appearance of the other parts of this resort, the pool area was a huge disappointment. The pool area needs some significant improvement before I consider staying here again. I would suggest removing the grassy areas and replacing with pool decking and increase the seating area around the pools. Possibly leverage the part of the property behind the chapel for another pool to alleviate the overcrowding.

Also, the food and drink prices are over the top expensive.

The net is that the Grand Wailea is too big, too expensive, and too overcrowded. There are many other better choices on Maui.

When I asked to submit feedback at the Grand Wailea front desk, I was quickly handed a business card asking me to submit comments on tripadvisor.com. I would have thought someone would have wanted to listen to my comments one on one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We (self/spouse/11 year-old/9 year-old) visited the resort for 7 days and 6 nights.

We had reasonably high expectations and expected high prices. This is a Waldorf hotel (Hilton Family) and I am a Hilton Diamond member, so I have seen several properties. This property, considering the price and location, should be considered average. The amenities are plentiful on sight, but the execution was not exactly 4-5 star.

Pros:
-Great pool area for the kids
-Great beach spot for the family
-Good location on Maui (provided you have access to a car)
-Spacious room and bathroom
-Proximity to retail shops (both on sight and adjacent)
-Beautiful and well maintained garden grounds


Cons:
-Darn winding path through the beautiful garden (Day one, the walk from our 9th floor room in the Haleakala Wing to the pool and beach through the garden was lovely meandering experience and walking back at the end of the day ok. By the end of Day six the profanity that ran through my head as we wound ourselves up the path from the pool...exhausted...sunburned...and just wanting to get cleaned up, feed and bedded was plentiful. Be prepared for this little hike being part of the experience. It is not terribly long, but windier than it needs as you will start up the hill...see your room in the distance...then turn away from it and walk in the opposite direction...then turn back, only to turn away once more. Again not terrible, but annoyed us. It may also take you one or two tries to master the paths, so don't be afraid to ask for help from staff to avoid some frustrations.)
-Pricing for food (I spent $80 for a small pizza, two bottle drinks, two fountain drinks and two ice creams)
-Value for the drinks (Not looking to get drunk, but a pleasant buzz would be appreciated from a drink or two. After ordering the $18 Frozen Mango Mojito served in a 7/11 big gulp-sized container, it was determined it had little-to-no detectable alcohol in it. This was confirmed by others, hearing other guests talk about consuming FOUR frozen margaritas poolside and not feeling anything)
-Fit and finish (this is something I have noticed and was confirmed by the show hotel impossible. The host of the show often talks about the difference between the star levels is the care and attention to details. This property, cob webs on the balconies and in the corners of the room, the roaches/beetles found in our room, scars and marks on the walls, and the slightly less than average cleaning crew hitting the room--I did not get the feeling I was being cared for attentively)
-Nickel and dime costing for everything...just be aware that everything except extra towels will cost you.

As an aside our friends stayed at the two adjacent hotels and we were impressed with their facilities and both parties had nothing but positive experiences at these sites. Next time I'm in Maui, I will be trying one of these other two properties.

Room Tip: Try to get yourself into the Lagoon Wing for proximity to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank djseyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Pros: Great pool area and slides for kids. Public spaces are beautiful. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Very expensive for what you get. We were given an upgraded room and it it felt overpriced for what we paid (the cheapest). Tired furnishings. Extra charges for many things including $30 for valet.

We spent one night here at the end of our vacation so the kids could have a water park like time before heading back to the cold north east. We got our full use of the time with a late check out and they had fun. One night was definitely enough though.

Another consideration for anyone with food allergies is that they state on all of their materials that you will get exposed to your allergen, since they use all ingredients in their kitchens (paraphrasing). We took the chance on breakfast and it turned out that they did have GF food in the kitchen. The waitperson however, really did not understand, so be cautious if this is an issue for you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has all ingredients to be a remarkable hotel, however it falls just a bit short. The grounds are amazing, the views, scenery and maintenance are top notch. The rooms are spacious and modern hawaii (not modern, modern hawaii). The problem is with the service. Many members of the staff are nice and warm, but overall we felt it was truly lacking the hawaii spirit of hospitality, extreme kindness and warmth. Maybe it is because it is so big, it just isnt possible to have this level of intimacy.

Also, the food/drink and spa prices are ridiculously expensive.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have been to most of the Hawaiian islands a combined 15-20 times +/- and feel that this was the worst of our family vacation experiences anywhere. We usually visit Hawaii in October, but this time made the trip in summer due to the youngest's school schedule. This was a big birthday trip for me. We stayed a full two weeks and I wanted this trip to be at a special resort that we had not visited before. I expected the resort to be significantly busier and with more families than usual, but I did not expect the chaos. It started early in the morning with people standing behind the ropes around the pool like they were at a nightclub, waiting to bolt for the best seats as soon as the pool was open. We witnessed physical altercations between hotel guests fighting for their preferred spot. We also put up with the bouncer-like security personnel that patrolled the pool area all day for any spot that looked like it had not been used for the required time (I believe two hours). If you were enjoying the pool for longer than this, your belongings were confiscated and taken to security, their effort to keep people from "saving" a spot all day long. We had to have someone in the family go check in and sit poolside frequently just so we didn't have to get in the line of people trying to get their things back from security. Then there were the drunken fools in the middle of the day in the pool bar that required 911 assistance barely after lunch, and the landscaping staff standing a couple of feet away and blowing debris in our drinks and food by the pool every day. I made a video recording from our upper floor balcony of the numerous lawn blowers going at the same time for almost an hour while we were trying to enjoy coffee on the lanai figuring no one would believe my description of the volume or the length of time this went on. Oh, and let's not forget trying to have dinner while a performance of live Aloha music was taking place by the adult pool on one side of the restaurant with open windows (an adult pool that frequently had diapered toddlers playing in it because their father was a celebrity and the staff said they didn't want to make him mad) and a kids movie being broadcast on a screen over the pool on the opposite side of the restaurant. It was like trying to have a dinner in the mall food court during the holiday season. Based on previous experiences on vacation, I was sure to ask in advance about the issue of smokers on the lanai before we book this vacation and were told that the staff would deal directly with anyone who smoked because it is a non-smoking property (as they all are in Hawaii). Yet every day, the guests in the room below us lit up cigars - plural - on their lanai at sunset. Every. Single. Day. When we called and pleaded for the staff to help, they sent a security guard who agreed he smelled the cigars and could see them below. He went to their door, they said they weren't smoking, and the hotel figured they'd done their job. On the fifth day, they finally told us they were not responsible for the actions of their guests and there was nothing they could do, sending us a cheese platter with champagne and a gift card for the restaurant that didn't even cover dinner. Never, ever, ever again. We spent our next Hawaiian holiday at the Fairmont Orchid on the Big Island and had the most lovely and relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can afford to go so that you don't hear the grounds maintenance as loudly as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LindaCH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

All the amenities for a great vacation. The staff were excellent, the grounds beautiful, the pool area amazing. The kids loved it! The spa was the best we've ever been to, and we've been to quite a few. The location was amazing, close to shops and golfing, and the beach was beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#7 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing