We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Huge”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel is huge. The hotel is not really modern or anything close to it but it is in a really great location close to many great beaches and places. The pools are great and the hotel beach is very nice too. It is a little over price i think but the service people is great and nice, they will help you with anything you need to have a great time in the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoloGarcia001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,339
    1,415
    682
    378
    236
See reviews for
2,366
2,146
68
617
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Visited last year for the 1st visit to Maui. Loved every minute of it. Fantastic beach. Great art and architecture all around the hotel. Wonderful and rapacious rooms . Definitely set bye standard high for our Hawaii visits. Can't wait to go back. Loved the water park and restaurants.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Overpriced, overcrowded, and in decay. Rooms compare to a Crowne Plaza in Dayton--no offense to the Crowne Plaza, but this is supposed to be a Waldorf. At peak times, room rates are unreasonably high. Pool is super-crowded. Room wings desperately need updating as their flimsy construction is reaching a tipping point. Paint was peeling on the bathroom ceiling.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I chose this resort from a recommendation of a friend that had stayed here a few times several years ago. Apparently there have been some changes. We called ahead a couple times to make sure we had joining rooms. They assured us it would not be a problem and when arriving it was. We were told the manager was with another guest and had additional unhappy people waiting. After a long trip we took the rooms they had for us. The furniture and rooms are tired and need a remodel. We have stayed a luxury resorts and this was one of worst.The grounds and pool were nice but are showing their age. However you better be waiting at 7:00 a.m. to get an umbrella or chairs at the pool. They need more for the number of guests. The resort meals were very expensive and not very good. There were many excellent restaurants close by for a better option. We will definitely visit Wailea again but not this resort.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just checked out of this hotel today, my stay was only one night as I just needed a room until my family's house had a room empty. I have stayed in this hotel several times before and have always had pleasant experiences and thought it was a beautiful place. This time however, I thought it was just okay based on my less than 24 hour stay. Let me just preface this with the fact that I checked in at 10pm, left in the morning at 6am to dive, and returned around noon for a late checkout of 2pm(which I really did appreciate them allowing that.) I basically crashed and fell asleep as soon as I got in the room. The bed is very comfortable, bonus points for that. It would be nice if the ceiling fan would be able to go a bit quicker as I sometimes don't enjoy sleeping with the AC on, but no big deal. The problems started in the morning when I went to step in the shower and quickly noticed an old bandaid. Gross. Either the cleaning crew ignored it or didn't even open the shower to clean it after the last people in the room. Next thing I noticed was the door that I had to turn the handle on the inside of the room, to close the door from the outside of the room. Luckily, I did notice the door did not automatically close when I left otherwise my room would be open for anyone if they pleased. Closed door firmly and left. When I came back, the natural light was great in the room minus the fact that it highlighted all the minor imperfections like very dirty walls and chipped paint. I decided to open the deck door, the deck is great by the way, and when I attempted to open the screen the whole thing fell down on top of me. So now MAYBE I could have used the dirty bandaid from the last person that was left in the shower to cover up my new bruise left by the screen! I had an hour left before I had to check out and a repairman came and banged on the door even though I had told them I did not want to be bothered. All things considered, my stay was less than fabulous. And I am still put off by the idea of the old, used bandaid in the shower.... just gross!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here many times and this past time was the last time. It seems like there has been a management and/or ownership change because the hotel is definitely focused around money and not the same great service we had grown to love. There are about $80/day in additional charges not to mention a mandatory $35/day valet charge. We totally understand the luxury hotel prices and have stayed at luxury hotels all over the world and never received such poor treatment for the dollar.

Do yourself a favor and stay at the four seasons or andaz which both share the same amazing beach but seem to have their act together when it comes to great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank difebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los ANgeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We went for a conference and found the hotel to be very nice. We tend to prefer smaller resorts, and this was a huge one! You had to walk far for everything. Nothing seemed easy. Everything was VERY expensive, so bring your credit card! Of course everything is expensive in Hawaii, which is why we usually go to Mexico.
The pool area was a zoo. Forget trying to get an umbrella unless you pay $250 - $750 for a cabana. The pool service was minimal, and lunch by the pool runs about $60.00 per couple without alcohol. The drinks are $16.00 each. The staff was nice but they didn't go out of their way for you.
The conference area was nicely set up and quite hospitable.
I wouldn't return, but may be nice if you have kids.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorado9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#5 Green Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing