We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Fargo N.D., United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay at hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

In spite what you might have read on the reviews of this property, Linda & I found this property to be absolutly outstanding. The service from check-in to check-out could not have been any better in our estiminations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,198
    1,374
    671
    369
    231
See reviews for
2,284
2,068
68
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Absolutely spectacular facility. There is something for everyone. What really occurred to me was how happy everyone was, smiling, helpful and genuinely happy to do anything to make our visit an event to be remembered. The Napua Tower is really worth the extra expense with breakfast in the AM and cocktails in the evening and your bed turned down with a special note wishing you sweet dreams, add whale watching from your balcony, it's a little piece of paradise! Fabulous shopping a short walk away(make sure you stop at Malibu T-Shirts for some great vintage shirts and stop at "Cheeseburger in Paradise" for a great cheeseburger(they make a great Bloody Mary too!) it's the perfect afternoon!

Room Tip: Anything 6th floor & above will give you a great view of the bay for whale watching and a view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here! Wailea beach is one of the most beautiful beaches and the Grand Wailea gave us great access to it. The grounds are expansive, you will need a map! The pool system is great, providing a lot of variety. The on site restaurants were delicious and the spa was truly outstanding!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nene809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

After reading reviews here, I was a bit concerned that I made the wrong choice - rated 5 of 6? Greedy staff?? Dated rooms??? Well, our stay was outstanding! From the moment we drove up, the valet got our name and began the check-in process, unbeknownst to us! Steve escorted us to the greeting area, we were welcomed, given leis, and escorted up to the 8th floor Napua check in - no lines, no luggage, no waiting. They had everything ready, handed us our keys and escorted us to the room - they contacted bell services, and our luggage was brought up immediately!

(so far, no palms outstretched for tips)

The room itself (King Room in Napua Tower - chosen for central location) was pleasantly appointed, larger than it looked on the website, with a delightful view to the north, and an amazing bathroom!

Humpback whale watching from our lanai was quite a highlight!

Service thoughout the hotel was fantastic - the housekeeping/turn down staff did an immaculate job to keep our room clean and pleasant, a bottle of champagne the first nite, a little note with a flower on the pillow each subsequent nite.
Always an aloha from the staff - all levels of service.

6 nights later, still no complaints - the staff throughout the resort was amazing - professional and friendly, from the Botero Bar (a special hi to Mary and the cats), to the Bistro Molokini, to the team in the Napua Tower breakfast/happy hour area (btw, you get quite a nice selection at breakfast), the pool staff, the awesome team at Spa Grande, and the great guys at Humuhumunukunukupua'a...

One of the nicest amenities (not advertised) - the 2 bottles of cold water placed in our car each time we took it out of valet. That was truly a 5 star touch!
The only tacky amenity was advertising the 2 complimentary bottles of water in the room -- I just assumed per night - that was for the week!

So we didn't get spritzed with Evian at the pool, but that's really OK.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Fromage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I am happy to know after reading some of the latest reviews, that I am not alone in my opinion of this ripoff of a resort @ $500/night. For several reasons, I am unable to check out.

The carpet is filthy and stained. The walls and trim are dirty, scratched and gouged. Someone left really slimy, greasy prints on the closet door, the mirrors were clearly not cleaned, the dust ruffle on the bed is dirty and quite wrinkled! The 'lounge' chair is so dirty and stained that I wouldn't think of putting anything on it, never mind sit on it. Fortunately, you only use the room to shower, change and sleep. The Grand Wailea, by far, rates as the #1 worst condition resort ever visited.

I did complain to the front desk and the only response was "I will pass it on to management and send housekeeping back." It was clear they truly didn't care. Housekeeping cannot refurbish a tired and dirty room in a few minutes. From previous reviews, I see the management is already aware of the situation. FYI Management, I don't need another 'canned' response. I would like about $400/night off my bill when checking out.

So far, I have only had lunch at the restaurant. It was expensive and on par with airport dining. I had a bison burger that was more than well done and bit into something that could have broken a tooth.

I would NEVER recommend this resort to anyone! Shame on Waldorf Astoria!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank plannedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Classic chapel, Fernando Botero sculpture displays, awesome location at Wailea, extrodinary water activities. Lots of fun going on in this huge hotel. Too expensive in food market. Spent $2.50 for one single banana.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Ying-Ting C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Grand is Opulent... everywhere you look is a treat to the senses. Many places claim to be a "resort" - the Grand Wailea absolutely sets the benchmark for the true experience. We found everything to be very clean. The staff we always helpful. The food is fantastic. The amenities, from the beach, to the pools, to the grounds .... all above expectations.

In our opinion this is a solid 5-star resort. Maui is a tough place for a resort, as there as so many things to see beyond it. But the Wailea is so unique in being over-the-top that you don't want to leave it. Our only regrettable moment was having to leave! We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the ENDS of the buildings ... they are larger but not more expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
29.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
23.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#5 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing