We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaii Trip 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This trip was the best vacation to date for our family and really has set the bar and expectations to be beat for future trips. It is really hard to beat a top notch hotel and resort stay in Maui, HI.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,683 - 3,689 of 6,682 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Grand Wailea is a large resort property with many pools, a great beach and several restaurants. The service was excellent, particularly appreciated receiving cold bottles of water in the rental car each time we took it out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njw_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The grounds and facilitiles are top notch. Meals and drinks are too expensive. The staff is genuinely very friendly and helpful regardless of their hotel responsibility. The Grand was a fabulous, memorable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Glen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Although it's a small portion, the valet is absolutely phenomenal!! They bring up your rental car with two free cold bottles of water every time. Leave any inside, and it comes back next time cold. I think they may have vacuumed my car too after I went on a hike, not sure. Call ahead from your room as it may take them 5-10 minutes to get your car.

Imagine the Wynn-Encore in Hawaii and you have the Grand Wailea. Very clean and great service, as expected for the price. Service was top notch and they give you leis, flowers, and necklaces. All amenities are here and full-service stores located along the esplanade. The water park is amazing and they have complimentary hotel umbrellas and chairs along the beach.

Warning: There are lots of families and kids, but hey it's a family resort. Probably 70% families, 20% couples, 10% other. Very homogenized American upper-class society folk with a sprinkle of foreign Asian travelers. Most patrons are nice but some are snooty (comments of "How can you afford this place at your age? Did your daddy pay for it?" and "I've been waiting here for over 2 minutes, where's my car?! Out of my way."). But hey, that's more indicative of society and not something within the hotel's control.

Room Tip: Be a Hilton HHonors member - helps to bypass any front desk line. Status helps with room upgrades a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We've been coming to the Grand Wailea for ten years and thoroughly enjoy each trip. It's a beautiful property in a fantastic location. Our kids (6 & 10) absolutely love the pools and slides-and after each trip we can't believe what a great vacation we've had. We've come to know many of the staff over time and they are so welcoming - Roberta, Faye, Zenith, Shane, Hi'ipoi- it's so nice to see them each time.
Of course, we plan our trip carefully- choosing to visit when it isn't "crazy busy" makes for a much more relaxing time. I can't give enough praise to Jen and Patty in the Napua tower, they are fantastic and so helpful with everything-from planning to arrival to departure -they are great!!!
Staying in this tower is part of why we continue to return year after year.
We dine both at the resort and in the surrounding restaurants, there are plenty of choices for most everyone.
As for the pool, cabanas make it nice for the entire day- but when we haven't had one we still have been able to get chairs we just had to look a little harder!!
I would definitely recommend GW without hesitation if you want a fun vacation and especially for kids it's something they won't forget (if you want quiet and low key you might want Andaz/FS)
The golf near the hotel -Wailea Emerald & Gold courses are fun and views are beautiful (Blue is nice too)
As far as the cost- yes there is a good size price tag for such a trip but no one should be shocked- Hawaii is expensive-going in you should know that it's going to add up- and just think of all the reward $$ you'll rack up!!

Room Tip: Napua tower is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetogolf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

not that happy with what I thought to be the nicest resort on Maui. I probably would not go back. Rooms were not that clean and the furnishings very tired. This is a big resort that can handle a lot of people well at one time. At times a loack of shade around the pools especially for those of us who like the sun but need to moderate sun tanning but want to be around the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
3  Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just returned from this lovely resort. Here is a clear response to some of the other reviews both negative and positive. Pools and beach are amazing and well kept...however, why should guests be made to pay for beach gear or ridiculous cabana fees when we are already shelling out big bucks for the resort stay and meals...not to mention a resort fee. Most of the cabanas stayed empty as I'm sure others felt the same.Food at grotto bar and volcano bar is awful..please do not waste your money. Cocktails were tasty at both though. We thought bistro molokini was awesome and main dining room breakfast pineapple upside down pancakes delicious!!room service although pricey was very good. $Tay far away from Cafe kula teriyaki chicken rice bowls were terrible and expensive. Our room was perfect...in lagoon section and we were given a hospitality suite to change and shower so we were able to hang around pool all afternoon after checkout. Service all around was friendly and accommodating. By the way we never had trouble getting chairs by pools

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank galberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
23.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#3 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $558 - $1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing