We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just returned from this lovely resort. Here is a clear response to some of the other reviews both negative and positive. Pools and beach are amazing and well kept...however, why should guests be made to pay for beach gear or ridiculous cabana fees when we are already shelling out big bucks for the resort stay and meals...not to mention a resort fee. Most of the cabanas stayed empty as I'm sure others felt the same.Food at grotto bar and volcano bar is awful..please do not waste your money. Cocktails were tasty at both though. We thought bistro molokini was awesome and main dining room breakfast pineapple upside down pancakes delicious!!room service although pricey was very good. $Tay far away from Cafe kula teriyaki chicken rice bowls were terrible and expensive. Our room was perfect...in lagoon section and we were given a hospitality suite to change and shower so we were able to hang around pool all afternoon after checkout. Service all around was friendly and accommodating. By the way we never had trouble getting chairs by pools

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank galberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,613 - 3,619 of 6,603 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Absolutely incredible resort. Just visited there the week of Valentine's Day and didn't want to leave. We had an ocean front room on the 9th floor in the wing closest to the chapel. Spectacular view. We could sit on our balcony and watch the whales. The service is wonderful- very attentive and friendly- smiles everywhere. The resort itself was beautiful. The grounds are immaculate. My 7 year old LOVED the pools and the water slides. We had very little trouble going down around 9 and sitting pretty much anywhere we wanted. They have a policy that if you put your stuff down and abandon it (don't go back for over an hour) they will remove your stuff to free up the chair. GREAT idea as it is designed to keep people from claiming the best chairs at 7am and then not coming back to them until 3 in the afternoon. However, in practice, they didn't seem to be abiding by it. We saw one set of chairs that someone claimed about 8am but we never saw anyone there until after noon. Location is perfect- best stretch of beach, best spot to watch whales and easy walking distance to other resorts and the Shops at Wailea. We loved it so much we bought a membership for discounted rates when we return.

A few minor negatives- while we were there, it was perfect. The resort wasn't full so we had no trouble getting a table, lines were short for the water slides etc. The next two weeks, the resort is completely booked and I would imagine that won't continue to be the case. Even the last day we were there, it was starting to fill up some and lines were getting longer.

We paid in advance for the breakfast buffet and wouldn't do that again. It was excellent food but it didn't change the whole week so we ended up eating the same thing over and over. Next time we go, we won't buy the breakfast inclusive package and only eat the buffet once or twice.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the ocean view rooms are worth the money. Rooms on the chapel side of the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We've been to the Grand several times in over the past 10 years and service has declined. The valet staff, lei welcome-crew, lobby bar staff and house cleaning staff are great, but the pool staff and check-in staff were aloof and not accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
3  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel has gone to the dogs. The furniture in the room was all banged up, the previous user was a smoker and the room smelled like a cigarette. Worst of all, the snobby staff made no real effort to help me. I am certain that the hotel was far from full and another room would have been great. I am going back to the Hyatt where I know that thigs will be right or made right if there is an issue.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
9  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had a great stay at this beautiful resort. My only regret was I was only there 2 short days before leaving for a business related trip. The place was massive so many pools, and a great walking trail along the beach. I never made it outside the resort but there was also a mall with shops close by. The lobby bar did close down a little early around 11 most nights

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Maya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I were here for a business conference and stayed in a Deluxe Ocean View Room on the 8th Floor (the top is the 9th) in the Haleakala Wing. While it was close to the business meetings, it was a hike to anywhere else on the property. We have stayed at quite a few large resorts - and the layout of the Grand Wailea was one of the more confusing. While the room was nice - and the view from the lanai was delightful, it was showing signs of age. The mattress needed replacing - there were two very deep troughs created by long use - which made the bed uncomfortable. We ate at a couple of the restaurants on the property - one was fantastic and the other OK. They have been reviewed separately. We used Room Service once for breakfast - it was good and timely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom82752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Sadly this once grand property needs help. Yes the room was clean, yet the chest-of-drawers and other room furnishings were scuffed and gouged severely needing help. It is a roll of the dice to see who will show up when staff is needed. Our first night in-room dining was superb, Ann made us feel so very comfortable and her attention to detail was exquisite. Sadly, this level of service was never repeated during the next five days.... restaurant service was spectacularly poor. We tried each restaurant venue only to be greatly disappointed by wait sfaff, food presentation and food quality. For us, poolside food service was the least objectionable. The problem, wait staff were inattentive and service slow. More problematic was the crowded chaise situation. Even cruise ships have more space for people. Anyone having more than a swim suit was challenged to navigate the poolside chaise labyrinth. Want some shade? FOR GET IT. You have the opportunity to pay $300 daily for a cabanas, or $75 per day for a claim shell with a hedge view... only a few places where you could actually use an umbrella. The room rate and food are priced at a premium level... Sadly many other island properties deliver excellence at similar price point.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
8  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Mahalo for writing a review on your stay with us at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. We regret that our service did not meet with your expectations. We strive to offer every guest a genuine Waldorf Astoria luxury experience with the highest level of service standards. We will use your comments to ensure that our processes are in place to achieve that. Warmest aloha, Kevin Peterson, Director of Food and Beverage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
23.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
22.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $542 - $1,405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing