We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice landscaping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice landscaping”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Great location. We had an oceanview room on the forst floor of Chapel wing- very nice location. Our balcony opened to the small pond with waterlilies and koi fish. On the website it said that these rooms come with king sofa sleeper. We did not have one. Just 2 queen beds. Carpet in the room was quite dirty. Bathroom amenities great. Loved their Mango-Honey lotion. Housekeeping very prompt and accomodating. There is a refrigerator in the room, but no mocowave. You get 2 complimentary water bottles in the roomn on the day of arrival. Afterwards you get 2 water bottles in you car - every time you pick up the car from vallet. During the rush hours getting the car from vallet can take up to 20-30 minutes (that was also only time when they did not leave any water bottles in the car). For the 30 $ daily vallet fee this is unaccepatable. Pools are nice with some slides and other water activities for the kids. There were lots of "taken chairs" at the pool, although I did not see any person actually using those chairs for up to few hours. On the hotel web site they say that they will remove towels from the unused chairs after an hour. But in real life no none enforced this policy. Sometimes it took more than an hour to clean up the lunch dishes from the chairs. Restaurants are very expensive with very few food choices. Very limited amount of healthy dishes or small plates available. If traveling with family I would recommend using Cafe Kula, or going to the Cheesburger at Shopa at Wailea. Nearby Four seasons restaurants have better food and drink choices, although prices are still quite high.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dracis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Mahalo for writing a review on your personal experience at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. We know that many guests choose to stay with us for different reasons, and we strive to provide a luxury experience for all of our guests. Although each guest’s expectations are varied, we know that the genuine, warm Hawaiian hospitality we are known for is something that everyone deserves. I hope you were able to experience that while you were with us. I am happy to speak with you personally, as I appreciate your sincere feedback. Please feel free to call me at 808 874 2426. Warmest aloha, Kai Pelayo, Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,388
    1,436
    688
    387
    239
See reviews for
2,403
2,180
68
626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Grand Wailea is beautiful and well kept. The rooms are nice, large, and clean. The beach was beautiful, clean, perfect for families with small children. The resort offers beach chairs and umbrellas which is a bonus. The little deli/store is convenient and pricey. Cute little shopping stores. The property is massive. Plan on lots of walking to and from the beach.
We visited at Christmas time so the entire resort was decorated for the holiday which was beautiful. The restaurants are very pricey, especially with kids. We found a few places up the road which were perfect and reasonable.
We could see the whales right from the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundevilRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Another great stay at the Grand Wailea!, This property is very large and impressive. Beautiful kept grounds, great staff, incredible pools, beach front with chair and umbrella service. Although this is a very pricy resort, rooms, food, drinks, tipping, we have loved our visits here.

Cons-The valet is 30$ a day and 25$ a day resort fee, so your vacation adds up quickly.

The rooms are in need of some upgrading, our room this time was nicer and sunny, last year our room was closer to the pools but a bit run down looking with shabby looking carpet, scratched furniture and it was dark. Which did surprise me for such a pricy resort. The internet was not very good this year either, spotty connection and quite slow.

I found they were also not great with watching for those people that take the best pool chairs in the morning and then don't come back for hours, which was annoying.

Overall though we love this place and will definitely go back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue972013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was my second time there, and it continues to be a spectacular, beautiful and well-managed resort. Grounds are meticulously groomed, restaurants are top-notch, beach is pristine, and the Japanese spa is unlike any other spa experience I've had. Take your time experiencing all the various baths, then get literally scrubbed-down before your massage! If you want a one-in-a-lifetime romantic experience (honeymoon, wedding, anniversary, etc), this is one of those places to keep on your list of possibilities. Not to mention, of course, the wonderful fun-filled island of Maui where this resort is located!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotownMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester county
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

GW is a big place with many wings and a zillion rooms. Meeting space is extensive and available in all sizes.

Strengths- It almost never rains in Wailea, so vacations are about as safe as can be found. Big place.Nice restaurant (Amasia) and OK restaurant (opakapakakaka). Grand architecture. Great pool for kids. Nice but small beach. Near other good hotels.

Weaknesses- Big place. One can be far from the action in this big resort. Rooms need some upgrading.

Al in all, its not cheap, but a terrific value if you are burning Hilton points

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockessin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

It was our first time to this beautiful hotel I cannot speak more higher ,but just to say it was magical the beach ,the rooms the facilities it's gardens .the only thing I would say that as it's room only everything else is extra, and bills do add up!!! They charge a daily resort fee per room which is $21 and if you want to use the cabanas at the beach they also are extra fee so beware of this bt other than that we can't complain my husband had a conference there and we did have some time together too which was really nice . And to top it all we did have an ocean view room and we also saw the whales from the sea most days jumping out of the water amazing

Room Tip: The higher the better and chose an ocean view great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penopenny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We attended a meeting here, without kids. The hotel is tired and showing its age. The staff were generally very good but it was hard to get service at both the pool and main bar. After diner Irish coffee order was met with "we don"t have coffee" after waiting for a server for 10 mins, I went to the bar to order. We handled our own bags but were still charged for porter service, $20. You pay 25$ resort fee,$25 valet parking, $3 housekeeping fees and have to wait to get your wrist band so you can spend the next 30 mins trying to find a place to sit by the pool. Get up early and stake your claim because if you don't, you cannot find a decent place to sit around the pool and spend $18 for a Mai Tai. Great place if you like crowds, lineups, obscene food and drink prices and paying double for what the accomodations are worth. Beautiful location, great climate but when I spend 5 - 600 per niight, I expect much more than they deliver. The internet service was awful, the free service you get is included in the "resort" fee. If you want to upgrade for another $15 - $25 you have to do it for each device. We had 2 ipads 2 cell phones and a laptop. I have never written a review before and the fact I feel compelled to write this is telling.
Give one inclusive price, decent internet service and address the crowding issues at the pool and update the property and you would meed the brand reputation we all expect.

Room Tip: Dont waste you money on an upgraded room, it is not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPBFaranuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Mahalo for sharing your comments on your personal experience at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. As a luxury resort, we strive to provide quality and varied amenities and experiences for our guests. It is just as important that we provide value and that we deliver at a level of what is expected of our guests. With many options in the resort, we are delighted that you have chosen to experience our activities, restaurants or shops. Please know that your concerns are heard, and feel free to call me personally to speak in more detail at 808 874 2426. Warmest aloha, Kai Pelayo, Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
23.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing