We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Giant hotel, well maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
chester county
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Giant hotel, well maintained”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

GW is a big place with many wings and a zillion rooms. Meeting space is extensive and available in all sizes.

Strengths- It almost never rains in Wailea, so vacations are about as safe as can be found. Big place.Nice restaurant (Amasia) and OK restaurant (opakapakakaka). Grand architecture. Great pool for kids. Nice but small beach. Near other good hotels.

Weaknesses- Big place. One can be far from the action in this big resort. Rooms need some upgrading.

Al in all, its not cheap, but a terrific value if you are burning Hilton points

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockessin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,260
    1,398
    676
    375
    233
See reviews for
2,335
2,097
68
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

It was our first time to this beautiful hotel I cannot speak more higher ,but just to say it was magical the beach ,the rooms the facilities it's gardens .the only thing I would say that as it's room only everything else is extra, and bills do add up!!! They charge a daily resort fee per room which is $21 and if you want to use the cabanas at the beach they also are extra fee so beware of this bt other than that we can't complain my husband had a conference there and we did have some time together too which was really nice . And to top it all we did have an ocean view room and we also saw the whales from the sea most days jumping out of the water amazing

Room Tip: The higher the better and chose an ocean view great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penopenny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We attended a meeting here, without kids. The hotel is tired and showing its age. The staff were generally very good but it was hard to get service at both the pool and main bar. After diner Irish coffee order was met with "we don"t have coffee" after waiting for a server for 10 mins, I went to the bar to order. We handled our own bags but were still charged for porter service, $20. You pay 25$ resort fee,$25 valet parking, $3 housekeeping fees and have to wait to get your wrist band so you can spend the next 30 mins trying to find a place to sit by the pool. Get up early and stake your claim because if you don't, you cannot find a decent place to sit around the pool and spend $18 for a Mai Tai. Great place if you like crowds, lineups, obscene food and drink prices and paying double for what the accomodations are worth. Beautiful location, great climate but when I spend 5 - 600 per niight, I expect much more than they deliver. The internet service was awful, the free service you get is included in the "resort" fee. If you want to upgrade for another $15 - $25 you have to do it for each device. We had 2 ipads 2 cell phones and a laptop. I have never written a review before and the fact I feel compelled to write this is telling.
Give one inclusive price, decent internet service and address the crowding issues at the pool and update the property and you would meed the brand reputation we all expect.

Room Tip: Dont waste you money on an upgraded room, it is not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPBFaranuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Mahalo for sharing your comments on your personal experience at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. As a luxury resort, we strive to provide quality and varied amenities and experiences for our guests. It is just as important that we provide value and that we deliver at a level of what is expected of our guests. With many options in the resort, we are delighted that you have chosen to experience our activities, restaurants or shops. Please know that your concerns are heard, and feel free to call me personally to speak in more detail at 808 874 2426. Warmest aloha, Kai Pelayo, Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying my husband and I are a young couple who are fortunate enough to do a lot of traveling. So this is not our first vacation! We had a much more pleasant experience than other reviewers here.

I was there for a conference and our rooms rates were great because of that (less than $300/night). I liked the resort, but would NEVER pay full price to stay here. Just not worth it.

We spent 2 days at the pool and didn't have trouble getting chairs. And we certainly didn't get up before sunrise to do so. We went there around 12 one day and 8:30 on the other, and got chairs at the hibiscus pool.

We ate at 3 restaurants and had delicious food at all of them.

Service was also good everywhere. No bad experiences with check in etc like others have had.

We had an awesome time there but as I mentioned, I would not stay here if paying full price!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a very expensive hotel for the quality on offer. We agree with all the negative comments that people have stated. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children under 10 years and the room we occupied was tiny. It would be cramped for just 2 adults and there was not enough storage for our clothing. We lived out of our suitcases for the duration of our stay. When we complained, the staff were not interested and told us that we got what we paid for!!! In fact the whole place is cramped and in our opinion too many people for the available facilities. The staff appeared unhappy in their work and were not at all friendly or polite. The pool area was very unclean and you have to get up before sunrise to secure beds around the pool. We witnessed people arguing over beds and saw security remove peoples towels and belongings off beds if you weren't sitting on them. The quality of food was poor and so chose to eat off site. My children enjoyed the slides, but this is the only positive we can say because it was by no means value for money. We would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DAC596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Mahalo for sharing your comments on your personal experience at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. As a luxury resort, we strive to provide quality and varied amenities and experiences for our guests. It is just as important that we provide value and that we deliver at a level of what is expected of our guests. With many options in the resort, we are delighted that you have chosen to experience our activities, restaurants or shops. Please know that your concerns are heard, and feel free to call me personally to speak in more detail at 808 874 2426. Warmest aloha, Kai Pelayo, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I burned through left over HHonors points to stay here for two nights. I'm glad that we didn't decide to stay longer, or pay cash to stay. The resort was very crowded, which is understandable, but it also felt very crowded, messy, and not at all relaxing. By 9am it was impossible to get a lounger, or even navigate between the chairs and the pools were brimming with people making it unsafe for young/inexperienced swimmers. The beach is pretty steep, which can make for tricky conditions. Not to mention it was a solid sea of blue and white umbrellas.

I understand that the property is a Waldorf, but everything on property was incredibly overpriced. I would have been more comfortable paying for such luxury if it had actually felt luxurious. Slightly bigger rooms, more privacy, and a little personal space would go a long way here. It just didn't feel like Hawaii, it felt like sitting on the 405 in LA complete with random celebrity sightings and throngs of people trying to get a glimpse.

Save your money and sanity by renting a condo nearby.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ohana42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Mahalo for sharing your comments on your personal experience at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. As a luxury resort, we strive to provide quality and varied amenities and experiences for our guests. It is just as important that we provide value and that we deliver at a level of what is expected of our guests. With many options in the resort, we are delighted that you have chosen to experience our activities, restaurants or shops. Please know that your concerns are heard, and feel free to call me personally to speak in more detail at 808 874 2426. Warmest aloha, Kai Pelayo, Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife and I chose the Grand Wailea to celebrate our 10 year anniversary as well as good health to start 2014. We came with our 2 1/2 year old daughter. Understand this when choosing a luxury hotel to stay at in Southern Maui. If you require a family friendly property where customer service is priority number one, then look no further than the Grand Wailea.

The property is immaculate. The room was quite nice. The beach was just a few steps away. The pools and slides provided all the distractions any young family could ask for. It is a bit pricey to eat and drink on property (to be expected in Maui); however, there are a number of places within walking or short driving distance that are affordable and delicious. I'll let you look up some of these on Yelp.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank logansaito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing