We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Wailea is truly grand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Grand Wailea is truly grand”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel overall is magnificent in appearance. The layout of the hotel is very nice & the pools/common areas are beautiful. It's quite large so it may take some time to find your way around, but take the footpaths & stairs because they're more enjoyable than riding the elevator. The room size was really nice for a King room. Bathroom was very large. The staff was accommodating with our request for a fan (for some white noise) because the ceiling fan and AC were extremely quiet. Free wifi was provided, but it was quite slow (2-3 MBps). You could upgrade for faster connection for a daily fee. The pools are open until 10pm, but the hotel issues wristbands to control access & the pool concierge closes at 6pm, so get your wristband before dinner if you want to swim later! The adults only Hibiscus pool temp is considerably warmer than the other pools that allow children.
The restaurants are good overall. Adequate for a vegetarian. The restaurants are pricey but the portions are good which makes it a bit of a better value. Amasia (their American/Asian restaurant) was worth a splurge & the time: it's a tapas type restaurant & the food was really good. Cocktails are all overpriced & are very average. Each restaurant has a drink happy hour which means you pay $10 for a drink instead of $12-$15. The best drink special is the Mai Tai at the Humuhumunukunukuapua'a (Hawaiian state fish) restaurant. This restaurant also has a nice seating area for a group of 10.
Cafe Kula serves Starbuck's coffee and has take away type breakfast items (bagel & cream cheese was $6.50). 12 oz coffee starts at around $3.50.
Grand Wailea makes it easy to charge almost anything to your room, but beware - you WILL be surprised with all the charges at checkout.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,510
    1,467
    703
    393
    245
See reviews for
2,515
2,230
69
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013

When it was built it represented the best of the best. Now, it is starting to show some age, but at the low, off-season rates, they were offering between Thanksgiving and Christmas, it is an amazing hotel at an exceptional value. The location is among my favorites in the world, and the staff are trained to exceed your expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The rooms are spacious and the beds are great. However, the resort is dated, and there are too many screaming kids at the pool. Also, the internet is incredibly bad. Not really sure why MacDonalds can have great internet and a high-end resort has horrible internet. Beach is nice.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view means "no ocean view." Deluxe ocean view means "ocean view.&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SGYoung1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Mahalo for writing a review on your personal experience at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. We know that many guests choose to stay with us for different reasons, and we strive to provide a luxury experience for all of our guests. Although each guest’s expectations are varied, we know that the genuine, warm Hawaiian hospitality we are known for is something that everyone deserves. I hope you were able to experience that while you were with us. I am happy to speak with you personally, as I appreciate your sincere feedback. Please feel free to call me at 808 874 2426. Warmest aloha, Kai Pelayo, Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Not thing special. Local from another island and spent way too much to make this happen. High point - pool and its layout (very good) Resturants - good quality, EXPENSIVE Room - Put me on the farthest end of the building away from the pool, when I requested otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Barney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Mahalo for sharing your comments on your personal experience at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. As a luxury resort, we strive to provide quality and varied amenities and experiences for our guests. It is just as important that we provide value and that we deliver at a level of what is expected of our guests. With many options in the resort, we are delighted that you have chosen to experience our activities, restaurants or shops. Please know that your concerns are heard, and feel free to call me personally to speak in more detail at 808 874 2426. Warmest aloha, Kai Pelayo, Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My family comes to Maui every year in the Winter, and Grand Wailea is always our go to resort!

The grounds are absolutely beautiful, and there is lots to do. We come here every year, and still, I have no desire to even leave the property. They have super comfy chairs to lay in (I never had problems finding one), and a lazy pool and waterslide if you needed a soak.

The service was exceptional, and I encountered absolutely no issues every stay.

The spa is expensive, but I think everyone should splurge once and check it out. I love high end resorts and spas, and this is probably one of my favorite spas. There are about 5 different salt baths to soak in, that feel amazing after a day lounging by the pool.

Yes, food and drinks at the hotel are a bit pricey, but it was nothing different than the rest of Hawaii.

The only flaw I had with this hotel is that the rooms are a bit outdated, and for a five star, I'd expect a little better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audrey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset, South Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Grand Wailea, the public areas are beautiful you can tell lots of time and effort were spend in designing and maintaining them. However the rooms needed updating three years ago and the same can be said today. Skip the breakfast buffet very pricey and wait staff is terrible, one actually went over my head with a big tray of food! Take the short walk to Four Seasons and pay a little more .We are trying their new resuarant tonight so we will see. As far as the pool and beach go , the location is what has us coming back. One of the nicest beaches to swim in ,small waves great view of west maui . If you want to snorkle just head a short swim down to the point, both stays we swam with turtles and nice selection of reef fish. The family pool is superb and it is nice to have a separate adult pool. We stayed here in early November and again in early December both slower season and it was not crowded . If you have a chance do try the Spa one of the best I have been in.

Room Tip: Pay more for front ocean view. 1000's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWExecutiveOffice, Manager at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay with us at Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. We strive to offer every guest a genuine Waldorf Astoria luxury experience, and we will use your comments to ensure that our processes are in place to achieve that. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and ask that you call me personally to speak in more detail at 808 874 2438. I hope to impress upon you our sincerest care for your comfort. Warmest aloha, Kevin Peterson, Director of Food and Beverage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Beautiful property and top notch service. Very satisfied and look forward to returning! Make sure to get either the Garden or Ocean View. Garden view overlooks interior pools/walkways, however you still have visibility of the ocean as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing