We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience;Not Once but Twice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to the Grand Wailea and it was every bit as good as our first trip. We were greeted with Plumeria leis in the lobby. The drive up is a huge series of waterfalls with every flowering plant imagineable. The service was great and extremely responsive to our every need. At night they would bring a few Plumerias with a beautiful card to the room and place it near our pillows. Our room was huge and well appointed. It was an ocean view overlooking the lagoon pools. I would have preferred to park the car myself because they charged $30 per day for valet parking but the other alternative was not available. However, the valet parking was extremely good and quick. Each time the car was brought around there were 2 bottles of chilled water in the console. We ate at 2 restaurant here on the grounds during our stay (Molokini Bistro and Humuhumunukunukuapua'a). Both were exceptionally good but priced a little on the high side. We used the Concierge services a few time and were very pleased with their recommendations. Sue and I also took advantage of the beach and pools...doing a little body surfing on the beach and using the waterslides. It was very relaxing.
It is all what you make of it. There are always many people taking advantage of the beautiful beach and wonderful pools but for good reason....because they are so incredible! You don't see alot of people at the bad places to stay. Make sure you take the time to take in the wonderful art collection that adorns the entire resort. We probably took 40 pictures of just the sculptures! The Grand Wailea is a great hotel and we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Chapel wing are quieter. Rooms in the lagoon wing are a little more livelier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,872 - 3,878 of 6,682 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Only reason to visit here is for your kids .. water slides and a excellent pool experience ... other than that welcome to a Hilton.... This hotel use to be a luxury experience now its a Hilton..... like Hyatt and Sheraton you will be vacationing with the masses .... lines for the food, bar pool, towels, elevators, valet, ...... personally I vacation to get away from people. Nice hotel clean and friendly but even in the off season place was packed ... Lovely beach but not a fan of HUGE hotels like this one

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
2  Thank DJBSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at the Grand Wailea for 5 nights during our honeymoon. We were disappointed. The adult pool was closed which we were never notified about. The other pools are over croweded and loud and just too busy. The service was lacking - they were never very friendly or accomodating and seemed to be doing the bare minimum just to get through their shift. We planned a lot of activities while in Maui so we wouldn't have to be at the resort too much due to the adult pool being closed and the ridiculously overpriced food. There are so many hidden costs that you might as well stay at the Four Seasons next door. We had an amazing lunch there that was WORTH the price. The Four Seasons gorgeous and the price is comparable to the Wailea and must more luxurious.

The room had a gorgeous view but that's really the only outstanding experience we had at the Grand Wailea.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank cmanning2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Killer view, Cozy bed, Yummy food, Beautiful sunsets! Paradise! This was our first time to the island and it could not have been any better! The spa was wonderful and the pools were cleverly designed. The food was so good! We are total foodies and we really enjoyed the dinning opportunities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Unbelievably rude! If you want Four Season prices at Hotel 8 quality, then you found your place! Oh, if you have an issue, don't bother to bring it up with management, they will just kiss their teeth at you - my wife and I were very polite about our complaints, pool being under construction without anyone letting us know ahead of time (we booked over 6 months in advance) and my son found an empty can of Monster Energy Drink under the bed skirt after he lay down after a long day. We had been there 3 days! On the positive, the lobby was beautiful, the restaurants are excellent and Luau was one of the best I have seen. But for about the same price, stay next door at the four seasons.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
4  Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of October and had great service, probably because the hotel wasn't very busy as it is off-season. They definitely have the best beach on Maui, sand is amazing. I agree with other people that the hotel is a little dated. Rooms could use a makeover. They were re-doing the main adult pool when we were there. Overall their pools are great with the slides. A little pricey to eat on property, so either bring your own food for breakfast and lunch or go off property. A little annoying that you cannot park your own car and have to pay to valet. Still a great hotel in a great location. I would return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We chose this property because of the amazing slides and pools and they did not disappoint. The kids loved them. That said, the "river" has some parts where the water speed is pretty fast, and it's deep enough that our 8 & 9 year olds could not stand up....they got swept around corners in fast current where they couldn't stand and we could not see them. Scary. The area around the pools feels crowded and hectic, rather than relaxing. They work hard to keep only guests at the pool (so hard that you feel a bit like a criminal when you ask for your wristbands), but it still feels crowded and busy. The chairs are arranged so they are RIGHT up against one another..so you have to crawl up from the bottom of the lounge chair and you get to be REALLY close to the person next to you. The grounds are stunning, and we were unexpectedly upgraded to an ocean view room, which was lovely. Still....I have to say that we'd try somewhere else for our next visit to Maui. Someplace a bit less crowded and more relaxed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank deborellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
23.1 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wailea
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: $558 - $1,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing