We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under construction!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Under construction!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Currently the area just adjacent to the main pool is under construction, starting at 9am with jack hammers and concrete saws. Trucks moving debris with reverse alarms and idling throughout the day. Don't plan on sleeping in!

Be prepared to eat and drink off resort. Cocktails are $15 at minimum. Rooms are dated, need updating, especially the carpet and tile.

Overall a horrible value for the price of the hotel. That doesn't include the inconvenience of construction.

Staff was friendly however and location is beautiful, grounds are well maintained. Valet is quick, just call ahead.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryhaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,403
    1,438
    690
    388
    239
See reviews for
2,413
2,187
68
629
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
256 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have been lucky enough to stay at the Grand Wailea four times. Our first trip was about a year after it opened. Our most recent this past March. The hotel is showing some age, but is still a beautiful resort. Use the spa! It is one of the best! The beach is very nice. It is a smaller beach, but it is nice. If you have a rental car be sure and travel to the other side of the island and eat at Mama's Fish House. It is about a 45 min drive.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank skd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Grand Wailea is a beautiful resort hotel. The grounds are incredible. Beautiful landscaping throughout. The multiple pools that are interconnected with small water slides are unique. The adult pool is very relaxing and a great place for night swim. The staff was incredibly helpful, with the concierge staff going out of their way to find us a good bar nearby with live music. Onsite restaurants offered very good food. The food at all the restaurants is expensive, but during our stay there were some 2 for 1 deals that helped keep the costs down. The beach is one of the nicest I have been on, with fine sand and lots of chairs/umbrellas available. The Grand faces West, so spectacular sunsets every night. The Saturday Luau was very well done as well. I would not hesitate to recommend the Grand Wailea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This restaurant has the friendliest staff and the best food! Love their Spam Musubi! They also offer locals plate lunches that my whole family loved. We ate all our meals there. The convenience of Café Kula was a plus. Can't wait to come back especially my kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel literally took our breath away when we pulled up to it. It is so grandiose and impressive- the whole open air entryway and they greeted us immediately with leis, we felt like royalty! The hotel was practically empty when we were there which was nice. The hotel itself is a maze of jungles and rooms. We stayed on the chapel side with an ocean view- it was a gorgeous view of the beach and grounds, with the chapel right outside. The downside to our room was that the room went up to a pool of sorts with koi fish and a waterfall- gorgeous in the day- at night, the frogs/bugs come out and were so insanely loud! Ugh. We didn't get good sleep there to say the least. The pool in and of itself is amazing here- lazy rivers, bars, a water elevator, beach walk-in, hot tubs, so much to do! We didnt realize the cool stuff is only open so long though- we snuck in a slide and a drink at the bar before they shut it all down. I was sad that they didn't annouce that or something, I would have run up to the water elevator to check that out! The concierge there was amazing- they hooked us up with everything we did on Maui. They were very nice. The restaurants here are nice too- we didn't try them all ( a bit too pricey), but we went to Humu Humu and the food was pretty damn good :) We didn't get to test their luau as we weren't around the day it is held, but we did the neighboring hotel's and it was fun. Not much in the Wailea area, but it is within walking distance of the shops at Wailea which is all upscale stores. My biggest complaint about this place was we felt like the maids/cleaning people were harassing us- they came to the room like 4 times a day! Constantly asking if we needed anything or to turn down the bed, close the shutters, etc. Nice but annoying. After the first day we just put up the do not disturb all day.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view- so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123travelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm a member at Grand Wailea. Over the past few years, I've noticed this hotel deteriorate in aesthetics, exclusivity of membership and service.

The common areas, spa and rooms at this hotel are in need of renovation. When we checked into our room, the air conditioner wasn't working properly, the commode didn't flush regularly and the screen door leading to the balcony fell as we opened it. Management did relocate us but it wasn't immediately.

We stayed in the Napua Tower, on a concierge level. The rooms are slightly larger than standard rooms but it's farther from the beach. They provide a good breakfast and light hors d'oeuvres and drinks at 5 PM. They don't offer bottled water or soft drinks troughout the day. Be advised that the rooms face an open atrium. On the first floor of this atrium there's a bar that plays loud music at night. The music resonates all the way up to the seventh floor.

The pool area is nice but lacks shade. They have a handful of umbrellas to make room for the many cabanas that rent for $400-$1,500 PER DAY!

If you desire an umbrella, be prepared to wait in line at 6:30-6:45 AM during the busy season. Pool opens at 7:00 AM. When they open the pool, it's literally a race to get to the few umbrellas that are available. It's quite a spectacle!

Since this resort caters to families, management should consider providing more complimentary shade for their guests.....specially given that they are already paying a hefty nightly fee, resort fee and perhaps a valet fee as well.

If you prefer the beach, the hotel provides lounge chairs and umbrellas. The line starts forming around 6:30-6:45 AM. The check in desk opens at 7:00 AM. Chairs and umbrellas will be set up for you once you show proof of check in. They go fast so I would advise getting there early if you want a good spot on the beach.

The restaurants are poor and overpriced. We dined at most of them but opted to go to adjacent properties or Kihei. If you like Sushi, I would recommend Sansei in Kihei. For Italian, Ferraros at Four Seasons.

The pool menu is limitted, and expensive. Small specialy drinks (Mai Tai, Daiquiris, etc) will run $15+, beer $10, a small plate of nachos $17 and a small salad $18.

The location of this hotel is very nice. It's situated on a beautiful beach and adjacent to a small, quaint shopping area. This shopping area offers two small convenience stores, restaurants and clothing stores.

I hope this review will not only help the reader but also management at the Grand Wailea. It would be nice to see this property return to the gem it once was!
























































  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvtotraveljw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This has to be on a bucket list of places to stay. The Hawaiian culture with elegance. Our rooim had a view over the Ocean and pools - they were exceptional and the water elevator really gave the kids (their older) a thrill. Dinner in the restaurant over looking the ocean and water feature was also brilliant.

We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedom1Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.3 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
22.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Green Hotel in Wailea
#6 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing